Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hospitality

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Dining was superb.
Location: Very convenient to al PSU venues.
Not only is the property lovely, the staff and cuisine are wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff was attentive and the common areas were relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast was upscale, relaxing and delicious.
Cons: The room was a bit musty, however, it was clean.
We stayed at this property for a local wedding and were pleased with the staff and comfort of the hotel. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is courteous and helpful. Would like to stay again when I have the time to enjoy the on-site spa.
5 out of 5
by William from Baltimore


Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Karen from Pittsburg

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stay here when I visit my son at school. Love the ambiance of the rooms , the location to school and the hotel restaurant food is superb.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
I had previously stayed here for work and was suitably impressed. So, decided to visit again with my wife for a short vacation. The hotel is impressive, very welcoming and comfortable. The staff are friendly without being intrusive. A delicious cooked to order breakfast is a great way to start the day. We enjoyed our stay and hope to be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, comfortable hotel close to Penn State

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: comfortable, clean, modern, huge bathroom
One night stay while visiting Penn State. Wonderful service, clean rooms, good breakfast, reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and comments. We hope that in the future you will choose the Carnegie Inn when in the area. Hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Susan from Amarillo, Tx

Parents weekend get away

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Went up for parents weekend at Penn State. Loved this little gem of a place. Very quaint with wonderful friendly service. Had a glass of wine by the fireplace in the library. Love the spa which is attached. Very clean and professional. If I could have any critique it would be that I needed better pillows. They seemed flat and old. The room was dated but very quaint and spacious with a great large bathroom. Overall a relaxing personable experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. If you could also review us on Trip Advisor we would much appreciate your help. Because of our size, we need those reviews to maintain relevancy in this market. We appreciate your staying with us and hope you choose us again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Audubon, PA

Even better than expected!!

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort, cozy
Location: Very close to Penn State University, just a short drive away to town and campus.
We were celebrating my significant others 40th birthday. We were a little nervous prior to arriving due to pricing of our room on Expedia from the price the hotel was offering. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Hotel staff was very accommodating. Everyone was very friendly, willing to do whatever we needed to make it a remarkable get away. A week before coming to the hotel we tried to make reservations at the hotel restaurant and found out that it was booked for a private party. A few days later the hotel manager called to say that the private party canceled and we could enjoy dinner in the comfort of our hotel. Food was amazing and ambiance was perfect! Overall everything was perfect and we made memories enjoying State College!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will choose the Carnegie Inn and Spa when returning to State College. If there is any way we can assist please contact us directly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fairfax, va

Wonderful bed and breakfast

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Service and location were wonderful.
Can't wait to return to this wonderful place. The service was exceptional, bedrooms lovely, giant soaking tub and shower in room, great restaurant and made to order breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Our breakfast service is one of the unique features of this property. Our guests love it and we enjoy preparing. Hope to see you when you return to State College.