Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very quiet setting

Posted Feb 1, 2017
A hidden gem. Hotel was really nice, tucked into a beautiful setting. Would stay there again when returning to the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Rebecca Muller, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Happy Valley
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed our recent stay here!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
It is quaint and as many other reviews have stated, and felt more like a bed and breakfast. I had the opportunity to have a massage at the spa and we had an excellent meal at their restaurant. We had a bit of a mix up with our reservations due to a private party taking place. The staff went above and beyond to accomodate us...actually setting us up in a private room for dinner. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a large soaking tub and separate shower with great products. A nice surprise was that breakfast was included and was made to order in the dining area. Overall, we would definitely return for another stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by D, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review and are so glad that you were able to experience all of the wonderful and satisfying amenities that are available such as the spa, dining and of course the cooked to order breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge, UK

Great hotel for the S.C. area

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Nice people and food. Nice room size and a large bathroom with bath and separate shower
Cons: The heating units in the room are a bit loud. But everything is warm enough you can happily turn them off.
Location: The local area is lovely for walking and cycling. Lots of nice forest area. You do need to drive / use a taxi to get to the very close shopping areas
This was my first time staying at the Carnegie Inn and I was thoroughly pleased with it. It has plenty of lounging areas outside your room, large rooms, great staff and good food. There are some good shopping areas near by and the surrounding area is great for walking including a foot path through the forest area closer to the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
We apologize for the noisy heater in the room. We have looked at since your visit and corrected. We hope that you will once again choose the Carnegie Inn and Spa when you return to State College.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Came to celery my son 21th birthday while he is at PSU. This Inn was perfect for our stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Inn, Spa and Restaurant

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Serene, sublime... service: superb... Subliminal stupendousness.... Seriously serendipitous Subtlety.... sagiously surrendred
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean rooms. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Stopped overnight on our way down to Washington from Niagra. Lovely room, staff very helpful, and a cooked to order breakfast. What more could you ask for. Shame we only stopped the one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hospitality

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Dining was superb.
Location: Very convenient to al PSU venues.
Not only is the property lovely, the staff and cuisine are wonderful.