Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg

Nice hotel, close to restaurants and shopping

Posted Jan 30, 2017
My mom and I meet in the area every couple months, and we always stay at the Holiday Inn Express! We love that we can walk to dinner at the nearby restaurants, and shopping is only a very short drive away! The king beds are comfortable, the water pressure is amazing, and the continental breakfast is the best we've had! Will definitely stay again and again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe place to stay

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Needed a place to stay in bad weather. Good price for a warm place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice convenient

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice. We always try to stay here as long as the price is reasonable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale AZ

Close to everything

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: Room could be a little bit more clean, counter tops need to be wipe out.
Nice hotel, Olive Garden, Outback and Texas Roadhouse are just walking distance, and everything else, like Walmart, Target Kohls and Downtown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Decent hotel close to highway

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet, nice staff.
Cons: Some of the hardware could use repairs.
Location: A couple of restaurants.
The hotel was clean and the staff was nice and helpful. I had a small problem during my stay, the window in my room did not close well, there was a gap between the jamb and the upper panel. The hotel staff taped it over but the only way to keep the room warm enough was to set the temperature very high. Such a waste! I also thought hotels in State College were quite pricey.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient location, but Won't stay there again

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff. The common area
Cons: Better bed & mattress for pull out couch! Better sheets/blankets too. The options for breakfast were a good variety, the food was subpar
Location: Great location to Penn Campus. Food convenient
First off, I want to say the staff at the front desk was fantastic! Friendly and accommodating. However, that could not make up for the VERY uncomfortable beds and pull out couch. My poor daughter had a spring in her back the entire weekend. Being it was Parents weekend at Penn all other hotels were sold out otherwise we would have moved. The maid the first morning just walked in without even knocking. Luckily the top bar was in place. I did like that it had a sink outside the bathroom to give it 2 sinks so that one person could be getting ready while another showered. I also liked the microwave and fridge in the room. The location could not have been better for ease of use to the campus. It was about 7 minutes to my sons dorm. But again, I will not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Conveniently located to Penn St University. Great for the football experience
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent as always
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was absolutely horrible from the moment I checked in. They have no bath tubs in the hotel. The staff was rude. Never again