Ratings based on 1,086 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Expedia did a bait and switch

Posted Sep 20, 2017
When I booked this room I carefully checked to make sure it was a non-smoking room. I checked in and was given a smoking room. I told the desk that I had not booked a smoking room. They said that is what was in the computer. I checked the Expedia booking again. In the section titled Requested Amenities, I saw Smoking. I DID NOT request a smoking room. What I speculate is that when there are only smoking rooms left, they drop the price and hide the fact that it is a smoking room in some non-obvious part of the room description instead of showing it plainly in the room selection part. This is my farewell to Expedia. There are plenty of other apps I can use to book a hotel or book directly so I don't need to be subjected to Expedia's sneaky tactics to sell undesireae rooms. By the way, the room was awful. Beside the stink of stale smoke, the blanket had a few burnt holes from cigarettes. Very classy place!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
John, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are sorry that you experienced problems and frustration with your online reservation. Unfortunately, due to high occupancy levels we are only able to switch room types when we have the availability to do so. We will undergo a renovation to our hotel this Winter and at that time we will become a non-smoking property. We truly appreciate your feedback and patronage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exactly what I expected

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Hotel met all of my expectations. A little dated, but clean, cozy, spacious(suite), and great value. No 2 night minimum during football weekends, and I don't feel gouged. Towels may have been a bit like 120 grit sandpaper, but I don't care about that. I would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great as well, and the staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Foodude, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will undergo a renovation this winter when we will be renovating all of our guest rooms at that time. We appreciate your feedback and patronage! SB ~ Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

It is what you think

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: Renovate
We only slept and showered there, so it met our needs. The room was clean, which is what I wanted. Beds lumpy, not real comfy. The hotel is beaten down, needs renovation. Weird smells in places. But in State College during football weekends it is half the price of the others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Kate, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. Although I'm glad that you found us fairly priced and clean, I sincerely apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything less than totally satisfying. We will undergo a renovation this winter when we will renovate all of our guest rooms at that time. We appreciate your feedback and patronage!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pa

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Nice staff but not tht greatest condition of rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Kay, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. Although we appreciate your positive comments about our staff I sincerely apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything less than totally satisfying. We will undergo a renovation this winter where we will renovate all of our guest rooms at that time. We appreciate your feedback and patronage!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

No refrigerator or microwave in the room.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Good rate.
Very unusual to find a room of this type today with no refrigerator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Brian, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We will undergo a renovation this winter which will include adding microwaves and minfridges in all of our rooms. We appreciate your feedback and patronage!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensburg Pa

It was fine. A little old, but just fine.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Cons: Turn the coffee carafe around so that it faces forward.
Staff was friendly. Hotel is old, you can tell and it smells like an old hotel, but it's been updated and was comfortable. The breakfast was on the more Spartan side ( no eggs or anything other than waffles in the " hot food" category) and the coffee carafe placement was awkward and downright difficult for those of us with a shorter stature, but we would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Linda, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We will undergo a renovation this winter where we will renovate all of our guest rooms at that time. We are always trying to find ways to improve our daily breakfast so we appreciate your feedback and patronage!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Watch non smoking above smoking rooms

Posted Sep 8, 2017
First room given was above floor smoking smelled if strong smoke Lady was moved and moved me but the 303 section is right above smoking room When go to the 300 on other side was good Clean , but old room People were very nice just don't understand Non smoking floor above smoking floor If really don't like smoking make sure on other side of building Smoker though rejoice
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Ben, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. I sincerely apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything less than totally satisfying. We will undergo a renovation this winter where we will renovate all of our guest rooms and become a non-smoking property at that time. We appreciate your feedback and patronage!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The staff was pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean except for the carpets which should be steam cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We appreciate your positive feedback about our staff. We will be replacing all of our guest room carpeting this winter during a renovation that will take place. Thank you for your patronage! SB ~ Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel near downtown and stadium.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
We've stayed here on several occasions. It is clean and convenient for us on football weekends. They offer free breakfast and a 24 hr coffee station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Lauren, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College again for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We appreciate your feedback and truly appreciate your patronage! We look forward to seeing you again soon! SB ~ Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from state college, pa

Wrong room

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Needed non-smoking room. Asked to switch, told no availability. Went to other hotel. Seeking refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Art, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are sorry that you were anything less than totally satisfied with your visit. It looks like you reserved a smoking room on Expedia.com. Unfortunately, since we were sold out during your stay we did not have the availability to switch your room type to a non-smoking room. We will undergo a renovation to our hotel this Winter and at that time we will become a non-smoking property. Our property and Expedia agreed not to charge you for this stay. We truly appreciate your feedback and patronage. S.B. ~ Front Office Manager