Ratings based on 1,148 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from state college

early check in

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Arrived early morning for a real estate class held in the hotel and since they had a room ready let me check in before the class even started.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dave, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. I am so glad we could accommodate you with an early check-in. We truly appreciate your feedback and patronage!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The bathrooms were completely outdated and there was mold on the ceiling!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. I sincerely apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything less than totally satisfying. I have made our maintenance department aware of your experience so that we can work to fix the issue. On Sunday we began a several month long process of updating all of our guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and patronage and hope that you give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future. S.B. ~ Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

CONVENIENT TO ACTION

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: NOTHING
Location: I H OP OUT FRONT !
COOL STAFF WHO WERE VERY HELPFUL AND KIND IN CALLING ME CABS --WHICH TOOK VERY LONG. VERY DELICIOUS BREAKFAST. VERY QUIET
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Larry, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate your feedback and patronage! We enjoyed meeting and talking with you during your stay! We hope that if you find yourself back in Happy Valley you will come visit us again! SB ~ Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palmer pa

PSU football weekend

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Awesome place and convenient to everything. Have been staying here for 10 years and it never disappoints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Joanne, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We truly appreciate your feedback and long time patronage! We hope that you continue to use our hotel and enjoy the changes we have coming for your lodging needs in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Happy Valley

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Location: Close to everything....Beaver Stadium, downtown College Ave. Close to many restaurants
Came for Penn State vs Rutgers football game weekend. Also celebrating my husbands birthday. It was a great weekend, service and staff were wonderful. Always asking you if you needed anything. We will be returning. I'm glad I chose this Super 8.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Kathy, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We truly appreciate your feedback and patronage! We are so happy to have been a part of your husbands birthday. I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to Happy Valley.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Football week-end in State College

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Location of Hotel was convenient. Needs to be updated. There were cigarette burns on the bedspread. Hotel needs to be updated. Compared to other hotels in State College, it was 50% less in price. I am sure that once it is updated, it will be s more desirable Hotel to stay at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Michele, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. Although I am glad you found our property conveniently located and fairly priced I sincerely apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything less than totally satisfying. We will actually begin updating our guest rooms in the next few weeks and effective November 20, 2017 we will no longer offer smoking guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and patronage and hope that you might visit us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

A decent hotel for the rate on a football weekend

Posted Nov 13, 2017
This is not the best hotel in the area and is definitely dated, however it wasn’t horrible. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I would stay here again, especially for the rate on a football weekend. I also was told by one staff member that renovations are planned in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dave, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. I sincerely apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything less than totally satisfying. You heard correctly, we will undergo a renovation this winter to update our guest rooms and also become a non-smoking property. We appreciate your feedback and patronage! We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

When Desperate

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Total upgrade is needed (see above)
Location: Location is fine and only thing acceptable about this hotel.
Hotel needs total upgrade. Beds sag in middle, carpet is worn and furniture is old and worn. Breakfast is terrible and nobody cleaned the room. Only reason to book as a last resort to stay in State college.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Roy, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. We apologize that your stay was anything less than totally satisfying. I have notified our management team of your experience so that we can work to resolve these issues. We will begin a guest room renovation to our property next month. We appreciate your feedback and your patronage!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cherry Hill, NJ

Hotel was close to the University

Posted Oct 18, 2017
For the cost of the room it was a dump.the comforter was not clean thank God I always travel with my own bed linen and towels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
winsome, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to rate and review our property. I sincerely apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything less than totally satisfying. I have notified our Management Team of your experience. We will undergo a renovation this winter when we will renovate all of our guest rooms at that time. We appreciate your feedback and patronage!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stony Brook, NY

Visit Son at Penn State

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: everything
Location: near Penn state
My daughter and I visited my son who is a student at Penn State. The location of this hotel is good but it needs a major renovation. It is an overpriced hotel but that seems to be the norm at State College. It seems the owners are making big profits and not putting money back into upkeep. Shame on this hotel!!!! The furniture is all scratched, the bathroom floor has cracks, the bathtub had black marks in it, the bedding had stains> I could go on and on but you get the idea. I am planning more trips to Sate College but I would not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by S.B. ~ Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Debra, Thank you so much for selecting the Super 8 ~ State College for your stay and for taking the time to review our property. We apologize that your stay was anything less than totally satisfying. We will undergo a renovation that is set to begin late November when we will start renovating all of our guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and patronage! SB ~ Front Office Manager