Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, NY

Old guard hotel in State College

Posted Aug 25, 2015
This was the first time we stayed at the Atherton on a trip to Penn State. It was very much as expected -- a little dated -- but clean and quite comfortable. The hotel was a little like visiting a wealthy grandmother's house. We had breakfast and dinner at Tarragon, which was good and reasonably priced. We also enjoyed a $5 pitcher of Sam Adams Summer Ale at Rumors. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting for Ag Progress Days

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Convenient for town I hate minimum comments. Bye
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Penn State Workshop

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Ambiance, convenience - easy to get to an get to Penn State University Park.
Cons: Pay more attention to my room requests
Location: Go lecture at Penn State for a day. Lots of fun.
The hotel looks neat - old school with a baby grand in the lobby and a good bar. My first room, with king bed, had an air conditioner that was coming apart so they moved me to a room with two double beds. I was tired of moving and suffered through with my feet dangling. Ate in the bar - good meal and atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parking

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Parking was a little tight and they charged $8 a night extra for it. Other than that it was very comfortable spacious room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Rooms were dated

Posted Aug 1, 2015
The rooms and furniture were dated and somewhat musty. Restaurant was good for breakfast. Hotel staff were awesome, very helpful. Location was very convenient to Penn State.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

A lovely hotel right downtown.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
This is a lovely hotel full of Victorian charm. The desk staff are very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and everything State College has to offer is right at your doorstep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly, pa

Great location!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
In town for only one night, great location. The hotel is out dated, but clean and friendly. The bedding could use an upgrade, but the bed were surprisingly comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel near Penn State Campus

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Very nice rooms with easy parking and access to downtown State College
Cons: no improvement necessary
Location: Easy access to the Penn State campus and downtown State College.
Excellent hotel with easy access to the Penn State campus near Rec Hall and west end of the campus
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share you review and for your business. Maggie Biddle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to downtown

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The hotel was comfortable and very close to downtown. There were a few cleanliness issues, but nothing that would keep me from going back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your insight. I apologize for your finding any cleanliness issues during your stay with us. We like to know when you are happy, but also if there's ever an issue and promise to try to take care of anything that is not to your liking while you're on property. Please know we have staff available around the clock to help with anything and very much value the opportunity to correct issues. Thank you for your business, your feedback, and your opinions. Maggie Biddle General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your insight. I apologize for your finding any cleanliness issues during your stay with us. We like to know when you are happy, but also if there's ever an issue and promise to try to take care of anything that is not to your liking while you're on property. Please know we have staff available around the clock to help with anything and very much value the opportunity to correct issues. Thank you for your business, your feedback, and your opinions. Maggie Biddle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel. close to everything

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: air conditioning is loud
room is clean, decor is pleasing with pay parking on site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give a rating for our hotel. We truly appreciate your business. Maggie Biddle General Manager