Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel that Needs Renovation

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Location, price, convenience
Cons: The hotel is old and worn. Elevators need to be replaced, the rooms need better servicing, and the "ambiance" needs improvement.
Location: Very close to downtown shopping, restaurants, and educational facilities.
This is a very conveniently-located hotel that needs an overhaul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're so sorry that you did not see our renovation board located near our front desk. In this way you might have seen the many updates that are underway, completed, or planned. Please know that during the past 6 months we have completely renovated our lobby, restaurant, bar, guest hallways along with a number of updates to all our guest rooms. Hopefully you will come back soon and check out the other updates!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orillia, Ontario

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Check in was speedy, staff very friendly. Our room did not have a microwave, so the staff quickly changed our room. Hotel is old and dated, some carpets in hallways are being replaced, beds very comfortable. Downside: pay for parking and no 'free' breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Hopefully you will have the chance to come back and see the ongoing improvements that are underway. Although we do not offer a "free" breakfast, Tarragon Restaurant offers everything from made-to-order omelettes, Belgian waffles, to blueberry pancakes and Eggs Benedict! We also offer $1 grab-and-go coffee, whole fruit, breakfast bars, muffins etc. for those in a hurry. We hope you'll check it out during your next stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Choice in State College

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Cons: Room felt a bit damp air conditioners were loud...
Location: close to so many good places around campus...easy walking for coffee, dinner and drinks.
Location is everything - and the Atherton has a perfect spot. It is a bit too far to walk to East dorms for move- in, but for a visit to town, I'd stay here anytime! The staff goes out of their way to be pleasant, the food in the bar and at breakfast was great, and parking is a pleasure. Yes, the rooms could use a bit of freshening...but I really like this property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Another excellent stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
This hotel continues to provide the perfect location to stay in State College. Great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review and rating. Your business is highly appreciated and we hope you will visit again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only a one night stay...

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: parking
Location: I grew up in state college so this was not a visit to an unknown place
Parking--an event at the hotel took all guest spaces as well...had to park in elevator well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tpa

Right where all the action is.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Walking distance to Arts Festival and Pennsylvania State University.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to visit penn state

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Hotel is a bit outdated. Decor could use an update
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for your fine rating and for your feedback. The hotel is in the process of many updates including all new restaurant and bar, lobby, public spaces and many updates to our guest rooms! Please check back and enjoy the changes!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
ダウンタウンに近く,便利な場所にあるホテルでした.歴史の長そうな建物ですが,内装はとても綺麗でした.レトロなエレベータが備え付けられており,エレベータの移動が遅いことが少し不満な点です.全体的には良いホテルだと思います.機会があったらまた利用したいです.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We very much appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
by MARK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels