Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The hotel is in an ideal location for visiting Penn State. Just park your car and walk. The staff is friendly and cookies at check in are a nice touch. That being said, the entrance is quirky, on a seperate floor from the lobby. The lobby is beautiful but laid out strangely. The room we had was dated and in need of a deep clean. The bed and linens were comfortable, but the window AC sounded like a jet taking off.
4 out of 5
by Dawn

Nice, friendly, convenient

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
The Atherton is the most convenient place to stay in State College. It is clean, well-kept and the staff is nice. Also a convenient bar for post-football games!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments .We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Sincerely, Brenda Hill Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All Good

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Excellent location, close to everything, easy parking, easy access from garage to lobby and rooms, clean rooms, beautiful lobby, friendly staff, reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review and top rating! It was a pleasure to serve you and we will hope to have you visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty decor, but the beds and pillows left a lot to be desired. I woke up feeling stiff and sore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The mattresses and pillows have been replaced in our guest rooms in the last year. Should you be in the area in the future, we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you to your greater satisfaction. Brenda Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
by Tracy

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and for taking the time to share your high rating. Maggie Biddle, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Ryan

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your comments and for your business.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great rating! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsville PA

visiting penn state

Posted Mar 29, 2017
very close to campus, very clean, affordable and friendly staff...will stay here again..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliments and feedback. Your business is truly appreciated.
4 out of 5
by JOHN

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very short stay so difficult to form positive or negative opinion, hence the 3 rating for most.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your time in sharing your high rating. Your business is truly appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson City TN

Convenient for the university

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Proximity to university and restaurants.
Cons: Provide curtains.
Location: The Palmer art museum is the best university art museum I have ever seen and I have been to several, including Duke University and Notre Dame.
The hotel is located in proximity to Penn State university. There are good ethnic restaurants within walking distance. Check-in was easy. The room was comfortable but there are no curtains and the blinds do not shut out the morning sun. It is therefore impossible to completely darken the room ,which is not helpful for sleeping beyond dawn. The elevators are freezing, so do not leave your coat or sweater in your room when you do down to the lobby or the parking garage. The in hotel restaurant is fine....good plain food and excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and for your review. We are sorry that you did not find some aspects of your stay but glad to know that you had a good time overall. We very much appreciate your feedback and high rating as well as your recommendation of The Palmer Museum.