Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean would stay there again

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The staff was always helpful. The food was great. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed the foyer very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Staff was very nice and helpful. Always pleasant. Clean and very comfortable. Would stay there again and recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Comfortable hotel in walking distance to all downtown State College shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The staff was fabulous; very friendly and curtious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Within walking distance to the college and the recreational restaurant and shopping area. The hotel also had garage parking which was very convenient
Cons: Do not like that because you book with Expedia for discounted rate you always get crappy room. Room view was overlooking the air conditioning units
Location: On College Ave. so shops and restaurants within walking distance. All Penn State Campus activities are within close vicinity.
Went for a college tour so only stayed one night. We shopped and ate at a popular local restaurant The Corner for dinner. The food was very good and would recommend eating there if you are in town. A place you must visit would also be the Penn State creamery you can even take home some ice cream which they will pack in dry ice for the trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel that Needs Renovation

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Location, price, convenience
Cons: The hotel is old and worn. Elevators need to be replaced, the rooms need better servicing, and the "ambiance" needs improvement.
Location: Very close to downtown shopping, restaurants, and educational facilities.
This is a very conveniently-located hotel that needs an overhaul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're so sorry that you did not see our renovation board located near our front desk. In this way you might have seen the many updates that are underway, completed, or planned. Please know that during the past 6 months we have completely renovated our lobby, restaurant, bar, guest hallways along with a number of updates to all our guest rooms. Hopefully you will come back soon and check out the other updates!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orillia, Ontario

Close to downtown

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Check in was speedy, staff very friendly. Our room did not have a microwave, so the staff quickly changed our room. Hotel is old and dated, some carpets in hallways are being replaced, beds very comfortable. Downside: pay for parking and no 'free' breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Hopefully you will have the chance to come back and see the ongoing improvements that are underway. Although we do not offer a "free" breakfast, Tarragon Restaurant offers everything from made-to-order omelettes, Belgian waffles, to blueberry pancakes and Eggs Benedict! We also offer $1 grab-and-go coffee, whole fruit, breakfast bars, muffins etc. for those in a hurry. We hope you'll check it out during your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Choice in State College

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Cons: Room felt a bit damp air conditioners were loud...
Location: close to so many good places around campus...easy walking for coffee, dinner and drinks.
Location is everything - and the Atherton has a perfect spot. It is a bit too far to walk to East dorms for move- in, but for a visit to town, I'd stay here anytime! The staff goes out of their way to be pleasant, the food in the bar and at breakfast was great, and parking is a pleasure. Yes, the rooms could use a bit of freshening...but I really like this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another excellent stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
This hotel continues to provide the perfect location to stay in State College. Great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review and rating. Your business is highly appreciated and we hope you will visit again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only a one night stay...

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: parking
Location: I grew up in state college so this was not a visit to an unknown place
Parking--an event at the hotel took all guest spaces as well...had to park in elevator well.