Ratings based on 446 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All Good

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Excellent location, close to everything, easy parking, easy access from garage to lobby and rooms, clean rooms, beautiful lobby, friendly staff, reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review and top rating! It was a pleasure to serve you and we will hope to have you visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsville PA

visiting penn state

Posted Mar 29, 2017
very close to campus, very clean, affordable and friendly staff...will stay here again..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliments and feedback. Your business is truly appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson City TN

Convenient for the university

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Proximity to university and restaurants.
Cons: Provide curtains.
Location: The Palmer art museum is the best university art museum I have ever seen and I have been to several, including Duke University and Notre Dame.
The hotel is located in proximity to Penn State university. There are good ethnic restaurants within walking distance. Check-in was easy. The room was comfortable but there are no curtains and the blinds do not shut out the morning sun. It is therefore impossible to completely darken the room ,which is not helpful for sleeping beyond dawn. The elevators are freezing, so do not leave your coat or sweater in your room when you do down to the lobby or the parking garage. The in hotel restaurant is fine....good plain food and excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business and for your review. We are sorry that you did not find some aspects of your stay but glad to know that you had a good time overall. We very much appreciate your feedback and high rating as well as your recommendation of The Palmer Museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Older, yet nice hotel.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The most convenient for walking along College Ave. or to campus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hillsdale

Nice hotel close to campus

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Nice hotel. Some furniture needs to be replaced. But otherwise very nice. P
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Maggie Biddle, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star rating! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Jaryd

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location in downtown Happy Valley with very clean rooms and very comfort beds
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your kind compliments and 5 star rating!
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Atherton Hotel recently. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your future visits to State College. Sincerely, Brenda Hill Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor night sleep

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Orbitz
The heater made crazy noises all night. The towels were tattered and worn. The double bed was on a queen frame and I kept buying my legs on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean would stay there again

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The staff was always helpful. The food was great. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed the foyer very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient clean hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location Everything within walking distance Free public bus to Penn State Creamery Beautiful, well maintained hotel Nice bar on premises with a good happy hour