Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Wonderful hotel as always...

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Every staff member at the Inn was warm, friendly, and happy to help. This hotel naturally captures the essence of being Penn State proud but it is clear that the leadership does not let that go to their head. A+ ratings for style, charm, and ongoing great customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Very nice stay

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, pretty rooms, live piano playing in the foyer that carried up to our room
Cons: A touch more attention from the cleaning crew.
I knocked down cleanliness because we found someone else's dirty sock in the room. Otherwise, the room was in excellent shape, the facilities were great, and we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Landenberg, PA

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Wonderful hotel on campus. Packed with tradition. Very comfortable and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somers, NY

Best way to visit Penn State!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Service, size, location, comfort, and amenities.
Cons: Maybe a few more updates such as replacing the telephones in the room,or sprucing up the bathrooms.
Location: This is the place to stay when visiting Penn State for any reason. We chose to stay here for a college visit.
Staying at the Nittany Lion Inn is iconic, and a must, if you are visiting the campus for the first time because of it's location on campus. You can have your car parked by a valet, and walk to everything during your stay. If you get too tired roaming around, you can call for a courtesy ride from the hotel. The hotel staff are trained to be at the top of their class in the Hotel and Restaurant Management field, and you notice immediately. We had a special request the morning we were checking out to have all our belongings put in our car, and we asked that our car be parked in the front lot by 3pm, so that we didn't have to wait when we were ready to leave on our 5 hour ride home that evening. Amazingly, everything happened as we had asked. Our car was even packed neatly, as I would've done! Surprisingly, this was the first time I stayed at the historic Inn, even though I went to school there, and my parents visited me many times. As an adult returning to campus numerous times, I still never stayed there until this visit...I wanted my son to have an amazing Penn State experience while we were college shopping. Now, I will always stay there. It was an affordable treat!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Feels like you are staying at Grandma's house

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: It feels like Grandma's.
The facility is nice but parking is a nightmare. There are limited spots out front and the parking garage is a short walk but if it is raining or snowing - you will be soaked. Not ideal for someone carrying luggage, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Nice hotel near to university park.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Service
Location: Near to university park
Convenient and good location and clean hotel...Sunday brunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnificent!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Staff, room accessibility to campus.
Cons: More rooms!!!
Location: It PSU.
Fabulous hotel on UP campus. Great staff and wonderful food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie, PA

very close to the campus.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The old world charm and the location
Cons: shower heads, breakfast buffet
Location: Its a college town so see the campus.
Beautiful setting, the bed could be more comfortable and better shower heads would be nice, so I could actually rinse my hair in less than 10 minutes. We arrived late and check in was a breeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great Stay

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Nice people. Walkable. Comfortable bed. Shuttle service to airport was a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surfside Beach, SC

Great place to walk to the creamery and downtown.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: On Penn State campus.
Cons: Cost is a bit high for frequent stops.
Stayed overnight to get the best ice cream and to visit the campus on the way to see family.