Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but nothing close by

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: I really liked the rooms.
Cons: It would be nice if they could be flexible on early check in realizing many people come from quite a distance.
Location: Downtown State College was really fun but parking can be a challenge
We really enjoyed our stay at the Penn Stater and the cost was reasonable for a good sized room. We really appreciated a chair and couch giving us a little sitting area. The only draw back was that it was not near any other restaurants. Also, we tried to check in early, which isn't usually a problem at most hotels, but they stood firm with their check in time even though the hotel was fairly empty the night before.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to stadium 3 mins

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great hotel with all the amenities. Great food clean, friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saegertown, Pa

Great hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Very clean. Beautiful landscape. The restaurant food was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hotel and room very clean. Good food and service at casual restaurant. Warm and inviting lobby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Very convenient when visiting PSU

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Nice, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly service and good location. Reasonable price. Breakfast buffet should include eggs a la carte. Shuttle to PSU was not reliable; consider renting a car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berwick, PA

Very friendly!

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The Penn Stater was impressive from the time we drove up to the door! It is very clean, which is the most important thing to a traveller. Every staff member I had the pleasure of speaking with was very kind and helpful. The pool area was well stocked with towels!! Our room was spotless and very comfortable. We had a great sleep and the morning coffee in the lobby was greatly appreciated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the State College area for business or leisure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Great hotel close to PSU

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Lovely place. Clean, comfortable and fantastic food at Legends and the Gardens.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Bathrooms were updated and clean but rest of the room/floor was dated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to campus stadiums and facilities

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Room was quite comfortable with plenty of storage to keep things out of the way. The food at the restaurants was really good.
Location: Penn State University stadiums were closest to hotel. Easy access to the rest of State College and surrounding area for hikes and other activities.
Overall nice experience. The person that checked us in may have been new as she needed help to check us in with our Expedia reservation. Very minor thing. Otherwise, restaurant, exercise room, guest room all were very good.
5 out of 5
by Jim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels