Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit mi

Beautiful stay

Posted Dec 12, 2017
The room and amenities were gorgeous. A nice get away from the city
5 out of 5
by Steven

A great way to visit the city

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
There weren’t a lot of frills here, but it was very cozy, clean, and super convenient to the ferry. The early morning breakfast was simple but enough to get us out the door.
4 out of 5
by William

Great location & comfortable

Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
The Fort Pl Bed & Breakfast is a great location. Just 3 blocks from the Staten Island ferry port. There is a grocery across the street and a fridge in the B&B. Host told us about Pier 76 restaurant nearby and we loved it so much we ate the 4 times. We had the top floor and it was quiet (except for occasional street noise) and it could easily accommodate a family of 5. The included breakfast was enough to get the day going. Wi-fi was great in the downstairs living room, but don't count on it on the 3rd floor. We will definitely stay here again if we are in NYC in the future.
1 out of 5
by Brandy

Go Somewhere Else!

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Although the location and house was adequate, the management created an atmosphere of abuse, intimidation and indifference to our needs. My wife and I were traveling separately from the US and Canada and had travel problems. Paul, the owner, said they were not of his concern and threatened to charge us extra because I dared to call him 3 times (no later than 9PM on a Friday night) to inform him of changes. I never felt a need to leave a B&B by sneaking out so as not to come into contact with the owner. The house was very nice and spacious for our needs. However, the bathroom lacked privacy curtains to shield us from the outside street, where many people walked. I felt the blurb on the site was very misleading. A view of the city implied NY, not a working class neighborhood that could have been anywhere in the US. The breakfast was continental, not at all advertised as such. To us, a breakfast at a B&B implied sitting down with other guests sharing a ‘typical’ choice of breakfast foods. I would recommend this place only if the management was different.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

price is too high

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: the location
Cons: replace the old towels
Location: the Staten Island Ferry to New York is nearby
location and breakfast were okay the rooms need an update
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Cons: the WiFi does not reach the top floor properly
The hotel is 6 minute walk away from the St George terminal, so you can explore Staten Island and also go to Manhattan using the ferry.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Bed & Breakfast

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great affordable place to stay. This was my first time staying at a bed & breakfast and the experience was excellent; the room was large, clean, and comfortable. Also, though it is in Staten Island, the bed & breakfast is just a 5 minute walk from the Staten Island Ferry which offers a ferry to Manhattan every 30 minutes (the ferry trip trip takes about 20 minutes, and from South Ferry in Manhattan it is easy to find a metro line to get to other parts of Manhattan or other boroughs).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and elegant.

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was quiet and homey
Location: Very close to the Staten Island ferry.
A much needed change of pace from your standard hotel. The furnishings are elegant and take you back in time but not in a run down way. Beautiful throughout. The operator is very friendly and helpful but at the same time leaves you alone and it truly feels like you have the whole place to yourself
5 out of 5
by Richard

Great Value; Excellent Service

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
Paul was flexible gracious and unobtrusive. The rooms were very spacious. The neighborhood could get a little noisy if you're sensitive to that. The neighborhood also wasn't glamorous but that isn't what I needed. I got a great room, for a great price with parking and I was minutes from the Staten Island ferry terminal. It is an easy walk and a free ferry to end up on the south end of Manhattan. I do not think I could have found a better value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Better towels and pillows
Location: Very close to the ferry.
It's a good value for the price but the towels were terrible. And towels are important. I think they use the towels to dry their cars too. Other then that we got what we paid for.