Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
12% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, MS

Not Very Good at All

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Start with general cleanliness and then go from there.
Location: Nothing but Georgia Southern is in the area.
Obviously, we knew when booking the hotel that it was not going to be a glamorous stay. However, our towels were stained, the bed sheets had tons of human hair, stains, and even some blood on them, the rooms reeked of smoke, there was mold in the shower/bathtub, and the room had probably not been dusted or vacuumed in weeks. It was absolutely awful and should probably be completely gutted as a hotel and redone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charleston, S.C

Nice location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Great location. Close to downtown, food, and Georgia Southern University.
Cons: Television is difficult to figure out. Would benefit from having a chart of available channels.
Location: Within walking distance to eateries, downtown, and G.S.U.
Friendly & helpful staff. Clean room, great location. Would definitely recommend & stay again when I'm in Statesboro.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely Acceptable

Posted Dec 20, 2016
I was very disappointed with this hotel. The room was adequate and safe. The refrigerator, TV and microwave worked fine. However, during my entire stay I couldn't get water that above luke warm. There were 2 facecloths and 2 medium bath towels and they all were well worn. I asked several days but never could get a box of tissues. The in-room safe did not work. I had to put a towel at the bottom of the door to keep cold air out. The room itself and especially the bathroom, showed many signs of wear & sloppy work like caulking, wallpaper or painting that offset the fact that there was some updated furniture there. Management was foreign & communication was cordial but difficult. After a few days, I stopped trying. The hotel advertised a continental breakfast was available but it was the worst that I experienced recently. A small pot of coffee was made but no decaf, hot water or tea. A pitcher of milk was out, that had to be refilled often. Two sugar filled cereals & white bread in baggies was all the food that was available. There was no fruit of any kind, nor yogurt, waffles, donuts, bagels and/ or cream cheese or peanut butter. There was no hot food & no healthy food available so I did not eat there. I was very amused to see a sign telling guests not to bring breakfast food back to the rooms. If all one wants is a roof over your head and no frills, extras or enticements to come back, then this hotel will suffice. I doubt that I will return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
no not go to this Red Roof! if you can find another hotel I think you should.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Worth It!

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Do not stay here! Rooms are outdated and furniture is poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roaches !!

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
First room they gave us had no desk, no chairs, and one small light. In the second room,roaches greeted us in the bathroom and on the wall near the desk. Kept the lights on all night because of roach situation. Only stayed because there were no other rooms available in Stateboro due to graduation. Drunk people in the parking lot all night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old tired hotel..

Posted Dec 5, 2016
very nice staff but really run down hotel. Lights in bathroom went out, no towels, continental breakfast is toast and coffee..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here-unless you have no other choices!

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was under construction. The area was a little run down. The hotel is between Sonic and Captain D's. I was disappointed when I arrived. The room did not have towels. The breakfast consisted of bread and cereal. I would not stay here again. However, the staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I knew better

Posted Jun 19, 2012 on Hotels
Despite any previous experiences with them I still decided to stay there for this particular trip due to the low cost and "included breakfast". We were charged an extra $10 ($5 per night) for our 3 month old to stay in the room with us. Then the room, although non-smoking (which I believe I also got charged extra for) smelt like smoke. There was actually a pack of "rolling paper" for marijuana in one of our desk drawer. There was a snack wrapper under the bed. It just was very, very uncomfortable for us. I'd rather pay a little more and get a better experience rather than settle for an unclean place.