Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from courtenay, BC

A real castle

Posted Sep 9, 2017
There is no elevator so be prepared to pack your luggage upstairs. It was a real treat to stay in a castle and the staff were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was very high quality.
4 out of 5
by Uwe

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with good breakfast and very friendly service. Rooms are very clean, but not air conditioned and with a southern exposure can get warm during the summer months. The hotel provided us with a fan, which made a significant difference in comfort level. Romantic location with great view from the hotel rooms, close to Marburg and Giessen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country Castle

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Unique stay in a castle hotel. Restaurant dinner dining was superb. Personally convenient for visiting relatives. Internet connection in hotel room sketchy and towel quality did not match hotel quality. Enjoyed four day stay. Highly recommend to others.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Seattle

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The area was great. Restaurant was top notch. Room was small but clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Pleasanton

An excellent choice

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very pleasant two-night stay at this delightful hotel. We enjoyed dinner both nights in the on-site Ritter restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Ruth from Launceston Tasmania

Posted Sep 24, 2015 on Hotels
we were looking to stay in Franfurt for night prior to late departure from Frankfurt airport. When seeking booking for hotel discovered prices extremely high due to, it turned out , Frankfurt motor show being on. Decided to seek hotel on perimeter of city. This hotel was highly recommended and it certainly met our needs. It had the charm of being in a lovely setting and offered free convenient parking and excellent service. The staff member assisted with luggage and room was great. We used the restaurant for dinner which was great. Breakfast was terrific and the staff offered and made my husband a fresh and extremely generous serving of scrambled eggs as he approached the hot servers. It was a 45 minute drive to the city next morning, which was very straightforward and we spent the day sightseeing in Frankfurt. Enjoyed the sights around the hotel and the charm of the Castle gardens above the hotel. Yes there are stairs and no lift but if you approach the reception in your car from the higher car park this means you enter at the same level as reception. There is limited parking here but plenty in the lower park. Can always drop off the cases and reposition car. All in all a great place to stay and met our needs perfectly. It was a bonus that you got to stay in a castle as well.
5 out of 5
by Annmarie from North Carolina

Comfortable castle

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived around 930 pm but staff was wonderful and even offered to keep kitchen open and serve us dinner. The dining room gives the authentic castle feel and food was excellent. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and we'll worth the cost. We would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is absolutely romantic! The breakfast and hotel's restaurant are fantabulous. Highly recommend for a romantic stay and only a short drive from Marburg.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark W.

Posted Oct 4, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is only 15 minutes drive away from downtown Giessen which has a ton of things to do and places to go. The hotel itself is very beautiful. You can take a short walk behind the actual hotel and walk around the old section of what used to be the Lord's Manor. Very beautiful location! I stayed in a single room with a great view of the nearby villages and another nearby castle. The staff is very nice and very helpful with anything you need. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.