Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport News, VA

Is this a condemned buildings?

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Tear the place down and rebuild.
Location: Feels like the ghetto. Unsafe and sketchy
The building looked vacant and run down. I thought I was pulling into a condemned building with a couple squatters on the grounds. I was greeted by a barking angry pitbull the manager keeps near the check in door. I entered my room and it smelled musty and all the appliance / lights were unplugged. The entire motel is very run down and old. Invest the extra few dollars and stay 2 miles away at newer places right off highway 64. I didn't stay and received no refund.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID THIS PLACE

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Door jamb had pry bar marks where people had tried to break in several times. Towel in bathroom was from previous stay. No shampoo supplied. Toilet not clean. I did receive a refund without a hassle, which I appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Well, I had problems

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The location was good
Cons: Check the towels, clean the blinds, do a good check in the room. Improve the hot water situations (two days without a shower was not good,
Location: location was good for me. I went there to attend a family funeral
I had problems at check in at 3:3pm in the afternoon, I could not get into my room because the toilet had to be fixed, I asked for a smoking room, didn't get it, I had to step outside to smoke. There was no phone, the young kid had to hunt me one down, The bathroom blinds were so dirty and for Saturday and Sunday I had no hot water to shower. The towels had holes in them. The people in the room next door fought and was slamming doors and finally someone called the police.. The young boy that was working the desk for the weekend was very nice. Needless to say, I was very disappointed in the room and would like a refund
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky & Quaint

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Ground level rooms. Considerate, accommodating staff.
Cons: It is what it is... quirky and quaint.
Location: On the main drag of Waynesville. Found decent restaurants, shopping and services all within a couple miles.
This is an older motel facility and a pretty well used. The staff, however, was very courteous with my very, very late check in, and also let me add a second night at the same rate when I got stuck with vehicle problems. The rooms are all ground level, each with a reserved parking space. I found my room more spacious and homey than most modern hotel rooms, though the bathroom was just a stand up shower, sink and toilet. Overall, my best one word description is Kafka-esque, but if you're OK with quirky and quaint, then this place will be fine for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Royal Inn needs some love...

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Low cost, proximity to restaurant.
Cons: Bathrooms, fixtures, furnishings and bedding all need to be brought into the new century
Chosen initially for it's low cost and proximity to the southern end of Skyline Drive, the big bonus being the Mexican restaurant next door! The rooms are clean and new management is making the attempt to make the stay comfortable, everything needs updating and the repairman's touch. For a single night, at the end of a long day on a motorcycle it was acceptable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, Md

Royal in name only

Posted Jun 8, 2015
No one in office to check me out, the check in delay was due to one person doing maintenance and office staff duties. Room was in disrepair with scars of previous damage. You get what you pay for, only this wasn't even worth the 60 dollars per day
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gettysburg

We didn't stay there because the room was so bad

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The rate, but since we stayed another hotel, that was lost.
First they couldn't give us the room we had booked. Instead we got a non-smoking room with a double. Then they could not find the key for the room. Paint was peeling in the room, it was musty smelling. TV didn't work and shower was weak and there was no shampoo. We ended up staying at another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Our stay

Posted May 24, 2015
This place is very old and rundown. The worst part about it was the room was not cleaned very well. The walls in the bathroom were horrible. The floor was sticky. There were cough drops in the floor beside one of the beds. Dust. Etc.lazy cleaning lady! The people running it were nice. We stayed in room 36. Super small fridge, shower, and microwave.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted May 23, 2015
No hot water to take a shower, no internet! I wish I could choose another hotel in that area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Rebuild and relocate .
Location: Bad location.
The room was dirty and there was no hot water , and its in a rough area ..