Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virgina

historic hotel beautifully maintained

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I love buildings with wonderful character instead of cookie cutter hotels. This is a example of an amazing historic building that has been kept in great shape and allows guests to have a unique experience. Lobby is great, staff was great, room was clean and very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Love the huge lit up sign on top of the building....awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Great hotel to stay on the way to Snowshoe!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Excellent hotel and priced well. Location is perfect and close to many good restaurants and local shops. Great service. Room was very clean. Breakfast buffet was very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, Clean, and Convenient

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The hotel was in an historic building, but nicely restored with rooms bigger than the shoeboxes of newly-built hotels. The employees were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The hotel has a nice pool, and an exercise room with a universal weight machine and a handful of aerobic machines (treadmills and elepticals). It is conveniently located to the downtown and next door to the local Shakespeare theater. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Interesting older hotel in Staunton VA just off interstate with several good restaurants and a Shakepeare theater nearby. Good place to stop if driving to NYC or Philly from points south.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Staunton

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Close to the Shakespeare theater and lots of great downtown walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NH

Great historic hotel in a clean, comforting town

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The history warmth charm and location.
Cons: I don't think so.
Location: Yes, as I said before the location was great for visiting Stauton or Pres. Wilson's Library. It was also near the highway and close to Charlottsville.
WE were wanting to go to Charlottsville, but this town appealed to us. We loved the town and the historic hotel fit our love of history, Loved the fact that Woodrow Wilson was born there but ran out of time to see his Presidential Library as we were off to Monticello for the day. I would, however, go back and stay again at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Ben

Overpriced

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Just overpriced for the small amount of amenities.
5 out of 5
by edward

Outstanding!

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Accomodations at the Stonewall Jackson were great! Food was great also!
4 out of 5
by Paul

Great Place to stay in Staunton

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The location is perfect for sightseeing Staunton, as everything is an easy walk. The hotel is a classic, and the staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Brian

The best of the best.

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Once again an amazing stay at our favorite hotel. Took a king this time and while the room was smaller it was incredibly comfortable.