Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newton, NC

An old beauty!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Great bar/lounge area and terrific waiter. Food there and the morning breakfast buffet were scrumptious. Very convenient parking garage.
What a remodel of this historical property. Such attention to detail. Staunton is a busy, attractive and fun-filled city and we can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel next door to the Shakespeare Theate

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: It is quiet, clean, safe and has all the amenities that I need. Mostly it is steps from the Shakespeare Theater that draws me to Staunton.
Cons: The hotel is named after a general who fought for a slave-holding South. How about changing the name so it doesn't celebrate slavery?
Location: Wonderful, best location in Staunton. Right next door to Shakespeare Center; a block away from Woodrow Wilson Birthplace, lots of cute coffee shops.
Good. All good. The place is clean, quiet, safe. The rooms are comfortable and have space to move around. The hotel is well situated near all the attractions in town: right next door to the Shakespeare theater, down the block from the Woodrow Wilson Birthplace and Museum, around the corner from several cute breakfast/lunch/dinner places, reasonably priced. The town is adorable, Victorian historically preserved residential districts that are easily walkable. There is a church about 4 blocks from the hotel that has a dozen Tiffany windows. It is a lovely place to visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Great location. Beware parking charges

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Great location right next door to The American Shakespeare Center. The decor is very dated and could use an upgrade. The machine in the parking deck was broken, so I had to pay cash to get out. The hotel refused to reverse the charges for the prepaid parking. Unbelievable!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy bathroom

Posted Sep 16, 2017
I found five hairs in the bathtub. My room was tiny. Barely enough space to walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Latrobe PA

Nice location in a lovely town

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Lobby was beautiful.
Location: Close to several cute antique shops and good places to eat. We were a 5 minute walk from the wonderful Mill Street Grill was was the best meal of this
We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson after spending the day in Shenandoah. Parking is $6 per day in a covered garage on the opposite side of block, but the hotel connects to it so you don't have to go outside to get to your vehicle.Desk clerk was friendly and checked us in immediately. Room was standard size and very clean, though the bathroom could use a little updating. I wish we had a room with a view of the town, but our room looked out to a brick wall//alley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern Virginia

next door to Shakespeare

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location, nice staff
Cons: Refrigerator policy
Lovely hotel. Only glitch was that I had ordered a fridge for the room and the guy promised it would be there when we arrived. It wasn't. I went back to the desk to ask about it. He made a call and said it would be right there. It wasn't. It finally arrived 30 minutes later after a second call. For a classy hotel that charges $10 for a refrigerator, it was an unpleasant misstep. Otherwise it was a fine experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head Island

Great place to stay in downtown Staunton.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Pet friendly, clean and great location.
Cons: Nothing it was fine.
Location: Woodrow Wilson Library.
We made our reservations through expedia. The hotel is pet friendly which is why we chose it. Front desk folks were helpful, parking was inexpensive and easy. The guest room was very comfortable - the beds were great. No problems at all. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Virginia

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location was good for exploring Shenandoah valley and park, decent stores and restaurants within walking distance, others only a short, easy drive.
Cons: Bigger bar in the lobby, more seating in the lobby, better on site restaurant
Room was comfortable, breakfast buffet was great and reasonably priced, lobby was beautiful, gym, pool and hot tub were nice but pool in the basement was a little less appealing. Parking was very convenient and cheap. Room prices were a little steep seeing as they were not very busy. Tasty fruit water everyday in the lobby water cooler.
4 out of 5
by Lori

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
a little bit of mold in the grout around the tub and on the shower curtain liner...room 515
5 out of 5
by Nathaniel

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely one of our favorite towns and hotels. Stonewall Jackson is a venerable building beautifully restored, right next to the Shakespeare theater.