Ratings based on 639 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northcote, Australia

Great Hotel with wonderful location

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, nice room with lots of power points, free internet.
Cons: Water pressure in shower. Kettle in room.(There is a coffee maker but not the best for making tea)
Location: See above
Right next to the wonderful American Shakespeare Center (Blackfriars Playhouse). Lovely hotel with clean, well serviced rooms and while there is no microwave or fridge in the room there is one downstairs we discovered, so I guess you can make tea and bring it up to your room if you want to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic and fitting for a Staunton Experience

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendliness, amenities.
Cons: Maybe a few more movie channels?
Location: Just off beautiful 81, with eats, shops, breweries, and theatre within walking distance.
Grand, historic hotel in the center of Staunton. Step out your door to restaurants and shops. Easy parking. Comfy rooms. All very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Steps away from downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight here after a performance at the American Shakespeare company next door. Lots of cafes, bars, restaurants and shopping just a short stroll away. Older hotel, but the rooms were tidy & the staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: It was pretty inside and clean--decorations for Christmas were lovely. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: As an out-of-towner, I think directions to the front of the hotel would be very good--post signs in the town
Location: Spoke of The Mill, which we have visited many times on our travels. Didn't get to town in time to enjoy the many lovely looking shops in town.
We came in after dark, so it was difficult to find the front of the hotel. Checking in I was unable to get a senior or AAA rate on the room because I hadn't booked thru the hotel!! However, we did enjoy our stay and the hotel--easy walk to The Mill restaurant too. Would make a return visit at some time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Great location with nice restaurants!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Great location with restaurants, shopping and theaters nearby. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the pool after a day of skiing.
Great location next to the Shakespeare Theater with nice restaurants nearby. We enjoyed dinner atTrain Depot and just 45m from Wintergreen Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Cute town, great hotel, easy to find, amazing staff, darn good food and a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to theatre!!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
It couldn't be closer to the Shakespeare theatre. Parking is convenient and costs six dollars. You can come and go using your room key to open the gate. Rooms are fine. Clean and comfortable but not high end linens and pillows. But for the price it is excellent. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and pet friendly hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Nice historic hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

so great for blackfriers theatre

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
great. staff all very attentive, so close to theatre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in downtown. Walk to everything

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Rooms are small but nice. Friendly hotel. Hot tub was broken which we were looking forward to.