Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Cute town, great hotel, easy to find, amazing staff, darn good food and a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to theatre!!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
It couldn't be closer to the Shakespeare theatre. Parking is convenient and costs six dollars. You can come and go using your room key to open the gate. Rooms are fine. Clean and comfortable but not high end linens and pillows. But for the price it is excellent. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in downtown. Walk to everything

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Rooms are small but nice. Friendly hotel. Hot tub was broken which we were looking forward to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urbanna, VA

Simple Elegance

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: I love the elegance, yet quaintness.
Location: There are so many shops right in downtown, as well as some wonderful restaurants; all with The Woodrow Wilson Library is always a great place to visit
The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is one of my favorite places to stay. The staff is always friendly and courteous, the rooms are always clean and Staunton is such a wonderful city to visit. The hotel is also pet friendly, which is a plus for us and the pet friendly rooms are very clean and nice; not always the case at other places.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in center of town.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel in an historic area.
Cons: The desk staff could dress a bit better. Having a desk clerk dressed in a football jersey was not appropriate given the price and the building.
Location: Shakespeare theater.
Went to Shakespeare theater next door. There is a good selection of restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Historic Hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The room was small but clean and in very good condition. The bed was luxurious and provided a great nights sleep. The bathroom was updated recently and was very well appointed. The front desk was very polite and knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. We would stay here again.
Cons: The only weird thing was a 2" or so gap at the bottom of the door that could be deemed a privacy issue. I solved it with a rolled up towel. Parking was an extra charge but not a problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Our favorite place to stay in Staunton

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Always a friendly easy access to downtown where you will have shops and places to eat the hotel has a nice lounge area where you can have food and drinks
Cons: The charge for parking in the garage but there is an elevator that brings you into hotel lobby
Location: The downtown within walking distance lots of shops and places to eat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blacksburg VA

stonewall jackson hotel-totally overrated.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Staunton is very cool!
For a handsome 5 star price one would expect a really fine place: The receptionist looked at me and treated me like a prisoner when I realized my ID was not on my person when checking in. Yes, it meant I had to go outside and locate my drivers license but she was actually rude. This weekend we were riding bicycles for the Shenandoah Fall Festival (a wonderful 800 plus cyclists from all about near and fall) and I joked and explained that my ID was in my biking shirt--she looked at me, as I said, in an incredibly disrespectful way. Nor was she was not aware of this huge event in happening in Staunton.....I thought receptionists are supposed to be aware of the local community and its happenings! The pool and Jacuzzi are in the basement and the place looks like a poor city school gym. The room was tiny and clean but the bathroom a bit outdated. But the worst is: the room was facing a wall 5-10 feet away and there was a big noisy machine below and all night long the unit (perhaps an air conditioning unit?) was going on and off and it made a harsh sound and the bed vibrated with its sound-a very subtle vibration. And the pillows were as hard as rocks. I almost went to our car in the middle of the night to get a feather pillow! No sleep this night! Our friends were all staying in tents and I wish we had not wasted money staying in this hotel. It was my birthday; and so it was supposed to be a special. Never again. One great attribute: centrally located.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria VA

SJ is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful town

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful architecture, HVAC system, staff, indoor pool and exercise room
Cons: I would be nice to have a full service restaurant. The in room coffee service is lacking
Location: The Shakespear theatre is first rate. Bistro has nice live entertainment, bar and food.
Room was nice and tidy. Pool and exercise room was great. Breakfast and drinks were great. The hotel is located in the beautiful town of Staunton VA. The train drops you off within a couple of blocks of the hotel. Nice quaint restaurants and entertainment spots
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy. Good place to stay. Pretty classy.