Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Fabio

Centrally located

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Good location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dependance of and next to the Victoria Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The price
Cons: Isolation about the noisiness of the music from the inside bar
Location: Located at the centre and the harbour. Nice terraces nearby.
Old building with a lot of stairs and small hallways. Noisy because of an inside bar downstairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel is budget so for Norwegian rates very cheap. If you can stay up till 2am in the morning then this will be good location as the noise from the bar will keep you awake till this time. You are next door to the Victoria where you check in and go for buffet breakfast which has a carpet worth more than the Skansen. I would recommend you stay at the Victoria if your budget stretches that far.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The fantastic breakfast
Cons: Noise proof room 15.
Location: Cruises, cathedral, shopping, restaurants
Do NOT stay in room 15. It is next to the restaurant/bar, and there is music until midnight. The fantastic breakfast almost made up for the loss of sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgend

Avoid if you like silence.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
This hotel in Stavanger, not far from train station, was good for me. Had to go to hotel next door to check in, but I found the room to be exactly what I wanted. Also, very close nice walk to the water and the Brygge. However, at night, there is a lot of noise from the bar downstairs, that opens until quite late. It didn't bother me, I had a beer in the bar, which was handy, but the noise may annoy a few people. So just be aware of this. But for me, it was a good atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's ok. Great location.

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Location. Comfy beds.
Cons: Why is there a weird smell in the staircase. Maybe in future some better windows to keep noise from street away.
Location: Everything is close.
Location is perfect. Rest is ok. Staircase has weird smell and on weekends it is very loud in the bedroom from the street until 1am. Room is very basic decor, slightly old but very clean. Extra comfy beds, had great night sleeps once the music stopped at the clubs on the street. Breakfast was nice with a great selection and included local Norwegian food as well as standard European breakfast selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Walking distance to center of town

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Center of Town.
Cons: Bar could be a Breakfast Place or Restaurant...
Location: Close to center of town. Ferry to Fjord cruise very close also.
Clean room. Courteous staff. Quiet, no noisy bar as I feared from review. Even gave me a hairdryer and when I departed helped print out my e-ticket at last minutes notice. Very helpful. Wonderful!! 5-star Staff!!! Excellent People!!!! Relieved me of my worries...........when I didn't even ask. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite good, considering the low price.

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
We actually got a free upgrade to the neighbor hotel Victoria, as Skansen was closed over Christmas (the two hotels share reception and breakfast room). The room was good, but the TV picture was a bit unstable. At the breakfast the coffee and the eggs were OK, the plates with cheese, ham etc. had clearly been in and out a few days in the low season. We stayed with the eggs. Expensive parking, public.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Price & good location downtown near almost everything
Cons: Fix the elevator!!!
Location: Close to most everything
Telephone sometimes worked & sometimes did not - more often did not work properly. Elevator did not work at all.
4 out of 5
by Vasyl from Kyiv, Ukraine

budget hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Budget hotel in city center, close to all main attractions and sights + close to marina / pier / port. NOT Wi-Fi (broken during our staying). Breakfast GREAT - in hotel-partnet Victoria. Also you can use all-of-you-need in Hotel Victoria! :)