Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel staff helpful

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I stayed for work reasons. Nice place to stay at a reasonable price. Staff very nice and facility clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. Your feed back is very important to us. We are pleased your stay was pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Junction, CO

will not recommend this

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: cheap, decent location.
Cons: water heater, beds, cleanliness etc etc etc
Location: NA
I came up to Craig to visit some friends, and I was looking for something basic as I knew I was gonna be out all day. Hotel is really dated, bad odor in the hallway, especially near the laundromat and the vending/ice machines, which that's where my room was. the king size bed was not very comfortable. and worse part is that there was no hot water most of the time, according to the staff their water heater is very old and it shuts off consistently, and so they recommended me to call them 10-15 minutes before I plan on taking a shower so they will check that the heater is on. Next time I would much rather adding $10 more per night and get a decent place that also includes breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. All feedback is important to us. We are sorry that your stay wasn't up to your standards. we have a breakfast every morning from 6-9.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and worn out and hot water-limited

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff was pleasant and tried to be helpful.
Cons: Fix shower valves that don't work correctly, clean the carpets, clean the areas near the doorways, make sure there is hot water.
No hot water on a cold winter morning. Lots of explanations and suggestions until the maintenance figured out the water flame had gone out the night before. Apparently nobody who stays here takes showers because the front desk was unaware that there was no hot water in the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hunting trip stay

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
There rooms are adequate. They breakfast area is clean and offers several options including cold cereal, yogurt, and waffles. They front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Overall a nice stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We all here at the Super 8 in Craig are very happy to know that your stay here with us was up to your standards. We hope for your return visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Cheaper. .............................. Get what you pay for.
Cons: Hole. ////////////////////// Notta. Noise floors uneven.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by manager , Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. Your feedback is very important
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst hotel I have EVER stayed at!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
The first room I was in was laden with cleaning chemical odor to mask an underlying mildew smell. The bathroom was filthy and the drain didn't drain. I almost couldn't breathe for the allergies I had. The management moved me to another room that was even more filthy with dust and dirt in the corners. The bathroom ceiling had water leaking and the tub again didn't drain. I had a three night stay but left after the second night - though I was charged for all three nights! Nasty place that needs to be shut down by the Health Department!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by manager , Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to do this short survey. we do not use strong chemicals for our cleaning supplies. We have taken care of the problem you had spoken to us about that day there was a small back up and we have since then taken care of the issue. the issues with the water leak has and was taken care of.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

KEEP DRIVING!!!!!!

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible horrible horrible. Husband was up here for work. No hot water all week, shower drains didn't work, no help from employees. Absolutely gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking to time to complete this survey. We are sorry to hear your stay was not up to your standards. This building is very old and you must let the water run for at least 10 minutes for the hot water to reach the room. I'm sorry that you felt the desk staff was of no help we do everything in our power to help all our guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Have Low Expectations

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The price was right and everything else was filled.
Cons: Handyman repairs New carpet A brisk course of hospitality for staff.
Location: Near Steamboat Springs, CO.
Staff was aloof. Breakfast items were not refilled or missing. When asked for assistance with TV staff member brought dog into room with her. Many observations of damage around the place. New paint job was untidy. It's obvious someone stopped caring about good service a long time ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by general manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. your feed back is very important. We are aware of the buildings condition and are working on that as we speak.
4 out of 5
by JACK

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to take this survey. All feedback is very important to us. We are glad to see your stay was great. Hope to see you again in the future. Sarah Joy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breakfast was substandard

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Checking in was good but I was assigned a room right across from the breakfast nook. I woke up to the beeping of the waffle maker at 6am. When I went to breakfast there was no milk in the thermos, no bread or cinnamon rolls what so ever, waffle batter was empty and several guests waiting for the staff to restock. As a manager, if you know you're out of bread wouldn't it make sense to go to the local store and purchase enough to get by till the Sunday delivery? The staff member that was restocking exhibited an attitude of being put out when asked by patrons for refills. Not a good experience that morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We here at the super 8 take pride in doing everything for our guest. I was not ware of the shortage until the next day so I do apologize for that inconvenience with our breakfast the next morning after your stay. We do our best to keep up with the breakfast in the mornings. thank you for your time with this survey we hope that you will see us again if your are traveling through the area in the future. Sarah Joy