Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and worn out and hot water-limited

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff was pleasant and tried to be helpful.
Cons: Fix shower valves that don't work correctly, clean the carpets, clean the areas near the doorways, make sure there is hot water.
No hot water on a cold winter morning. Lots of explanations and suggestions until the maintenance figured out the water flame had gone out the night before. Apparently nobody who stays here takes showers because the front desk was unaware that there was no hot water in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Cheaper. .............................. Get what you pay for.
Cons: Hole. ////////////////////// Notta. Noise floors uneven.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by manager , Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. Your feedback is very important
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst hotel I have EVER stayed at!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
The first room I was in was laden with cleaning chemical odor to mask an underlying mildew smell. The bathroom was filthy and the drain didn't drain. I almost couldn't breathe for the allergies I had. The management moved me to another room that was even more filthy with dust and dirt in the corners. The bathroom ceiling had water leaking and the tub again didn't drain. I had a three night stay but left after the second night - though I was charged for all three nights! Nasty place that needs to be shut down by the Health Department!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by manager , Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to do this short survey. we do not use strong chemicals for our cleaning supplies. We have taken care of the problem you had spoken to us about that day there was a small back up and we have since then taken care of the issue. the issues with the water leak has and was taken care of.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Have Low Expectations

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The price was right and everything else was filled.
Cons: Handyman repairs New carpet A brisk course of hospitality for staff.
Location: Near Steamboat Springs, CO.
Staff was aloof. Breakfast items were not refilled or missing. When asked for assistance with TV staff member brought dog into room with her. Many observations of damage around the place. New paint job was untidy. It's obvious someone stopped caring about good service a long time ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by general manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey. your feed back is very important. We are aware of the buildings condition and are working on that as we speak.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: clean comfortable room
Cons: outside apperance
Location: very close to steamboat springs
outside of the hotel pretty dated. Good value for price paid. Good breakfast as always.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We are glad your stay was to your standards. Your feedback is very important to us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to our road trip

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: It was on our way on our road trip.
Cons: Repair, repair, repair. Replace, replace, replace
Location: N/A
Motel was shabby. For instance the toilet wiggled. The heater was terrible--it would run loud and hot. Then we would have to get up to turn it off. Because it was cold outside, we would have to get back up to turn it on sometime later. Then repeat & repeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Managment, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your feedback is important for us to make your next stay that much better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver

it was 25 below zero

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Not happy with it at all!
Cons: maybe check the rooms better
Location: close to highway
I drove 6 hours In a blizzard in negative 25 degree weather to my hotel and upon arrival found my heater wasn't on in my room so my kids were cold for about an hour until it warmed up then we discovered the shower didn't work correctly and I reported it to the manager and she told me she could move me the next day. Which did me no good because I was leaving the next day, was not very please with this place at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2015 by Managment, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to do our survey. Your feed back helps us create a better stay for your next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst national chain hotel ever stayed in.

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Get back to national chain standards
Location: Not much
Opened door lights did not work, lamp in bathroom on shelf above toilet was light is bathroom no lamp in room.Tub Nasty dirty! Asked for new room ceiling falling in bathroom, Decided to stay in original room. Because prepaid would not refund room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2015 by general manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to do our survey. We would like to apologize that your stay was not up to standard. Your feed back is very important to us so we may fix these problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For The Price, It Was OK

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Arrived to Checkin and there was no TV in the room and it smelled awful.. Hotel staff kindly switch is to another room. We wish there had been a pool as an amenity though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2015 by Genereal Manager, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate your review and we will strive be to better and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy Stay

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Cons: The heating and cooling unit was very very noisy
Room was i need of repairs most minor but showed it's age. The major problem was the heating and cooling unit even when just the fan was running. Front desk staff didn't even know where the room was located seemed more concern with her texts that she was receiving on her phone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by General manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We are sorry you stay was not up to stardard. You feed back is very important to us so we can make your next stay that much better.