Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

One night stay

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: convenient and good price
Cons: Décor in general
Clean room, but bathroom definitely needs updating - bit old fashioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Blenheim Palace

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More staff maybe
Short stay just two nights but very pleasant and good basic food. Room was spacious and clean with good on suite facilities.
3 out of 5
by Scott

Comfortable

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Not much choice on the menu but overall decent. Didn't see Ny ghosts either lol
4 out of 5
by Steve

TV broke !

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room was nice, I believe they are refurbing some rooms so it can only get better. The TV gave up in the evening and reception said it happens sometimes, which was odd. The cooked breakfast was nice but they struggled to keep it topped up, as they ran out of beans and bacon (which was topped up after a while). Free wifi, and limited mobile phone signal on 3. Overall the nice friendly hotel, and the food was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochdale

Thoughtless booking! You should have moved us!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: George in the Restaurant and also another member of staff (Portuguese) behind the bar. The courtyard looked very relaxing in the sunshine.
Cons: More investment into renovations, cheap reno and it shows!
Location: Can be a little noisy on the road side, but hotel was central to where we needed to be. Blenheim Palace was 15 minute drive and was amazing.
Bathroom renovations next door, carpet protector, bags of grout and boxes of tiles with plywood left on the floor. Drilling/cutting started at 8.00am on both mornings and the fire door remained propped up against the wall for the entirety of our stay. Not what you want on a romantic break!! Plus points, George was very welcoming and helpful in the Restaurant but we were slightly put off by the constant reminders left strategically placed around the hotel asking for trip advisor review - clearly left hotel open to severe criticism in its present state. Hotel very appealing from the outside, however internally could do with up-dating. Breakfast was rather disappointing too being served straight from the kitchen on the Saturday but then buffet style on Sunday for which we were charged for, however breakfast was available from 7.00an through to 11 so that was a further plus point. Why oh why did Aaron (reception) not offer to move us when I clearly pointed out how disappointed I was, the hotel was far from full when there were only 8 people for breakfast. Evening meal was good steak cooked to perfection, however felt like we were in France, steak and chips with no salad/veg.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Holt

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it was an good stay. My only bad point is the temperature in the room. Even with the windows open it was very warm. Which lead to a disturbed sleep. The food was great. Staff were friendly. Prices of the food werent too bad either. Id stay again just not in that room.
5 out of 5
by Safia

Quiet country stay

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff, especially the reception staff on Friday night and the breakfast room staff on Saturday morning were brilliant. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good. The hotel is in a quiet country area so a car is needed to get anywhere. The only downside of the room was the slanted ceiling which I hit my head on.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Stephanie

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Continental breakfast offered but nothing available. Then given a plated breakfast which was also very bad. This needs sorting. Will not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly efficient and welcoming

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Made us very welcome