Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful setting, great room and views. Friendly, helpful staff and quality wines. Really enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Many thanks for visiting Asara, and for the kind review. We're delighted to hear that you so much enjoyed your stay with us - and hope to welcome you again in the not-too-distant future. Kind regards, Asara Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by Lazarus

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017
Thank-you for the visit to Asara, and for the feedback. We hope to welcome you again in the not-too-distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great facilities, gorgeous views, great dining!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Location, views, comform, cleanliness, friendly staff.
Cons: Pool-side service was lacking and can be improved upon.
Location: Close the the CPT airport, Stellanbosch downtown and a lot of famous wineries. Franshoek is accessible as well for day trips.
Hotel is located conveniently with breathtaking views of the winelands! Spacious and bright rooms with balconies. Plentiful dining options. Winery and vineyard on location, gives for a nice opportunity to stroll thru the vine farm. Staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Susan

One of our favourite places

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
As ever we love it here. Staff are lovely, accommodation good and we relax here
2 out of 5
by Kapil Bagaria

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Good location and view. However property is old and rooms / bathrooms are old and tired. Should be a 3 star property and overpriced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Nice area with excellent service at hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Entrapment by the Manager

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
While we did have a lovely stay at the hotel itself, we were absolutely shocked and baffled that while my wife was getting a morning massage, the hotel proceeded to charge us a late check-out half day rate!!! We left the room at noon only because we were paying customers at the spa. Moreover, the manager on duty handled it in the most uncivilized and unprofessional manner. Despite everyone else's exceptional service (particularly Serge), we will not only never visit Asara again, we will actively discourage others from staying there. Given that we host about six dozen delegations coming to Cape Town a year, this will be a very expensive "half day charge" for Asara.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel and staff

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Had a great experience, staying for two nights. Hotel and staff were very good, although the food in the hotel bistro and signature restaurant weren't up to the same standard (breakfast was good however). Would recommend staying here for the views and pool area, but perhaps make reservations to eat elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

Beautiful and relaxing

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We stayed for two nights at the end of our holiday. It was the perfect place to relax. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The grounds are beautiful, I loved the little deli shop with chocolates cakes and gifts. The Sansibar was great with 230 gins to choose from. The Mise en place restaurant was an experience with superb service. We went on a wine tour and tasting. The tour was free the tasting was very reasonable and apparently complimentary for those guests who booked direct with the hotel. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Fourth visit

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Views and room amenieties. Good to see still do turn down with fudge, water and weather forecast.
Cons: This was our fourth stay and a few changes had been made. Shame no longer served a glass of wine on arrival or bottles of water in reception and put in your car when leaving. Small things but used to make it more welcoming. Also since the old reception is now accomodation the only way to the pool is down a steep grass slope. Slippery when wet first thing in morning and also covered in a lot of birds muck so don't go wearing the complimentary slippers!
Location: Quiet location with amazing views. Need a car if you want to go elsewhere as out of town