Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrew

One night in paradise

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Booked a villa room which was amazing. Views are stunning! We had a two course lunch with wine tasting and would do the full tasting menu next time, the food is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great and enjoyable stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: In a word "everything"
Cons: Just through the entrance gate there is a dip in the driveway. If this was levelled out slightly it would not catch a low vehicle's tow bar.
Location: Clouds Estate is off the main road and is quiet. The town of Stellenbosch is about 10 minutes away by car. A wine tour is highly recommended.
We chose Clouds Estate because a family member was getting married at another wine estate nearby. From the moment we arrived the staff were very warm and welcoming. They went out of their way to help, offering taxis etc. In addition, the housekeeping at our villa was quick and efficient. Our accommodation was contemporary and beautiful. There were full kitchen facilities, with a complimentary bottle of Clouds wine chilling in the fridge. The bathroom was well stocked with luxury items. The setting and view from the villa (number 10) was spectacular; there were large patio doors opening onto a deck area with ample seating. The restaurant and lounge area in the main hotel provided a serene ambiance; again with fantastic vistas. This setting along with high quality, delicious food and their own wines (others are available) made our dining experience a pleasure. We must mention Bruce who looked after us at dinner. He helped to make the dining experience special with his quiet and professional approach whilst anticipating our needs. The breakfasts were also delicious with a full range of fruit, meat, cheeses etc along with the opportunity to order a cooked breakfast as well. A touch of luxury was provided each morning with the opportunity to start the day with a buck's fizz; delightful for non-drivers. Clouds' attention to detail enabled us to have a truly delightful experience including peace and quiet. We would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Absolutely fantastic stay in an incredible setting

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We stayed in the honeymoon suite and had a wonderful time at clouds. Our room was spectacular, the spa on our deck was fantastic, and the staff were excellent, Andrew and Bruce in particular, thank you so much for looking after us. The restaurant is great, we didn't end up eating anywhere else. We had a super relaxing time and highly recommend Clouds Estate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overrated

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Excellent views, friendly staff,let down by dirty tired towels, bed linen,web sites room description not updated and misleading both on Expedia and other web sites leading to not getting what you paid for? Not enough sun beds at the pool For the small amount of guests? Misguided staff which you can only blame on the bad management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The best views in the world

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The whole experience was perfection. Staff very friendly. Room absolutely perfect. Evening meal and breakfast really lovely. This is a total 5-star establishment and would have no hesitation in returning. Loved every minute of our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning vistas vineyard mountain retreat

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing place with breathtaking views. Great food, very friendly staff and stunning location. You won't regret staying here. Very romantic as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury in Stellenbosch!

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay. Details perfect. View anazing. I highly recommend The Clouds Estate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice estate

Posted Sep 10, 2016
I recommend clouds to anyone wants to enjoy staying near wining farms. Beautiful and quite place to stay in. It does not have spa or fitness but everything else is perfect.
5 out of 5
by Wesley from Denver

Absolutely stunning wine estate and 5 star hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very much enjoyed our stay. The location is amazing for the views of the surrounding region. The infinity pool overlooking the Simonsberg mountain will blow you away. It's a winery, and they provide you with a complimentary bottle. All of the snacks in the mini fridge are complimentary. Heated floors, heated towel rack, and automatic lights in the bathroom were over the top! The food is just wonderful. There are 3 other wineries within walking distance, or take a tour, they'll drive you by golf cart. A true delight for couples wanting to enjoy a romantic getaway in wine country!