Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver CO USA

Superb on every count

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Everything, including its charming, venerable feel without being frilly.
Cons: What indeed! Nothing I can think of after five happy days/nights there.
Location: A few steps from excellent shopping for Africana, a few minutes from the historic university. Easy drive to many outstanding wine "farms."
I can hardly imagine a better place--in wine capital Stellenbosch or anywhere in SA. Great staff and excelle connections with moderate-cost locan drivers for visitors without cars. Fine restaurant, too.
5 out of 5
by Heather

Stellnbosch boutique gem of a hotel

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Beautifully located hotel in the middle of Stellenbosch. Atmospheric furnishings. We loved the breakfast on the patio and the delicious buffet spread. Eating on the front patio at night is magical. The food is of very high standard. We'd go back to this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Cute hotel in the center of stallenbosh

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Very friendly stafff at this quaint little hotel at the center of stallenbosch! Breakfast was included and very tasty although did not vary from day to day. Only complaint is that Thebes was rather uncomfortable for my back but otherwise I very cute place to stay. Could recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Wesley Swartz, Hotel Management
Dear marina, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa. Thank you for your lovely comments on our friendly staff and tasty breakfast. We value all our guests' feedback as it assists us greatly in maintaining and improving our product and service offering. Thank you for sharing your experience. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Brian

Bang on centeral

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
A great place just to hang out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

B&B like hotel in Stellenbosch

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Overall a great stay. The hotel is nicely located in the center of town. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is above average for hotels, but not as outstanding as other locations in region -- there are some amazing restaurants at the vineyards. (eat on the veranda if you can...). They have a nice breakfast spread including an "hot" order and the eggs Benedict were solid!! Only down side was that the room was a bit small...but OK for boutique hotel.
5 out of 5
by Oliver

Great staff, lovely little hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Really friendly and genuine staff, vey helpful and made our stay special
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sweet, historic, intimate.

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay at Coopmanshuijs, this time accompanied by my 80 year old mother. The staff was warm, welcoming and gracious, and took time out of their routines to help her if necessary, to give her a guided tour of the original house, or just to chat while the car was being retrieved from the parking lot. I recommend this property wholeheartedly, and without reservation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm, inviting, intimate hotel.

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Stellenbosch, and the surrounding towns are beautiful, and there is something for everyone to do. Great cycling, hiking, running trails, and the best wine you've ever tasted!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is a lovely boutique hotel. The staff were all excellent, friendly and helpful. The food is also really good. Helene's restaurant is number 4 on Trip Advisor which is really good as lots of good restaurants around. It is in an excellent position with lots of fantastic restaurants and shopping in the area that you can walk to. The staff were very accommodating as my husband did the Origin of Trails race and they had a delicious breakfast ready for him and allowed us to book out 1 hour later so that he could shower. The Spa is also very nice and quaint and Belinda gave me a lovely, relaxing massage. Only downside was we felt the rooms a bit cramped - perhaps furniture needs to be moved around to make it more spacious. Also no feather pillows on beds and we had two single beds pushed together which is not what we booked. We also booked the room with a balcony which is nice. Also the showerhead in room 7 needs to be cleaned as the water was not pouring out of all of the holes and the hot water took for ever to heat up. All in all lovely hotel with excellent staff and we would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world splender

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Could not fault it great breakfasts