Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Sandy

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed it but it was noisy due to clubs in the area and construction activity during the day.
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Devin from johannesburg

Excellent

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, awesome room, great feel, great service, friendly.
3 out of 5
by frank from coral springs

Good and Bad ...

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Great location walk to shops and restaurants, nicely decorated, decent sized room, we had a poor room location, right on the street, so we did not enjoy that. We also had some issues with electrical staying on, it is an old hotel and they had done a lovely job on the décor but need to keep up with the operating systems. We had an issue with the front desk, we counted on them to refer us to a company for a private driver for the day and ended up with someone's friend, and a upsetting day. Suggest you make your arrangements prior to getting here with a reputable company. Food at the restaurant was also good.
4 out of 5
by Tracy from Johannesburg

Great place to be

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
This is certainly the best hotel that we've stayed in at Stellenbosch. The staff are very efficient. The valet parking works perfectly! The reception staff are exceptional - very professional and prepared for your visit. The staff at the bar are also great - very eager to assist. The breakfast was fantastic! In fact, the best we've eaten at the hotels in Stellenbosch. The room is great - the shower is simply amazing. The only complaint about the room would be the lack of privacy if you want to sit on the chairs outside your room. I didn't feel too much privacy with just the voile curtains drawn either. Considering that it's my only complaint, it won't put me off staying there again. The location is perfect. The internet speed is great (free). The tea lounge is cozy and I highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the heart of Stellenbosch

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Elegant hotel with a long and interesting history.
Terrific staff, modern and tasteful decor, great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Tons of construction going on, starting at 8:30a. Really disappointing as the rest of the experience was fairly positive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable and nice. Quality
2 out of 5
by Gordon from Yorkshire

Shambolic!

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
didn't realise is was the wine festival in stellenbosch when we booked so everything was either full or quite expensive. Arrived at 7pm and was given room 101. A quite simply terrible room on the ground floor immediately opposite reception and the front doors of the hotel which everybody has to walk past to get in and out, the window of the room literally opens up to the front of the hotel patio where all the hotels guests smoke and chit-chat. The second bedroom window opens on to a rather dingy alley at the side of the hotel. Quite simply an appalling room for the price paid. Asked to be moved and told we couldn't as the hotel was full. Told them I would simply not stay in that room and will go and find myself something elsewhere in town - somewhat reluctantly they moved us to a first floor room. Not really what I would regard as the luxury room booked but infinitely better than the first offering! Breakfast, whilst pleasant, is slow and staff seem to be rather disconnected. Throughout our two night stay not one single member of staff offered us any kind of welcoming smile - a truly terrible way to run a hospitality business and one which does not deserve my money ever again!
3 out of 5
by R from England

Oak Aparment Single(Double) is outside main hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
Good position for tourists. Booked two Oak Apartment Singlew (Doubles supplied). No room safe - Hotels.com site wrong. The rooms were through an intercom controlled locked gate by the main hotel pool, up a narrow-step ladder type open staircase.The other end gate of this pedestrian lane/courtyard was only locked at night. The room had almost floor to ceiling height sash windows. One bar/restaurant opened via a back door into the courtyard, and another's outside tables were audible over the fence from the 1st floor rooms. One of the rooms booked had no working air conditioning and the non-functionality was known before occupancy was given (a fan had been put in), but was not immediately evident to me due to a power outage. The hotel was fully booked but an alternative room was provided late at night, as they could not get the air conditioner mended. Bottled water was not provided in these rooms, nor any general hotel information. The hotel room information book in the main hotel did not show the Oak Apartment rooms as part of the hotel at all! Breakfast and evening restaurant service was slow and had to be prompted, with flies a persistent problem - Probably due to building works which have now entered Phase 3, though the hotel website said they were due to finish at the end of November (Maybe they meant Phase 2??). A litre bottle of water in the restaurant was 75 ZAR! The Bistro opposite with Red lanterns does good food at reasonable prices and is very popular.