Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
great room, lovely breakfast and amazing views over stellenbosch. 8 minute drive to the town centre and had plenty of parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Wonderful stay

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Best bed we've ever slept in.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: A bit out of the way, so nowhere to walk to, but not long in an Uber.
Just a lovely place, with a beautiful view over the valley. Staff all friendly and the food delicious. On the negative side, it's away from the town itself so nowhere to walk to in the evening, but apart from that, would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Big lovely rooms set up as mini-apartments. Beautiful views, small balcony. A bit of a walk from the rooms to the main building - could be a problem for those with mobility issues. Gym is offsite.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Great hotel but WIFI...

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
lovely place, would be recommendable for a relaxing stay. only problem I had was the lack of Wifi in the room, and unwillingness of local IT to come and fix it, the Wifi was dependable as I was on a business trip. I phoned reception each day who then relayed to IT and vice versa, IT never spoke to me or visited me or my room. there are 4 rooms to a block and wifi is somehow centrally shared in this block somewear (probably in the loft space), a colleague was in a room next to be with perfect signal, my room had not even 1 bar, and when you could get 1 bar it was not enough to maintain the connection. the hotel did try to offer me another room, but this is a nuisance to re-pack and unpack, not to mention does not resolve the original issue, I mentioned to reception that it would not help the next guest and so on fourth, reception also informed me that IT were aware that the block I stayed has known wifi problems in the particular room I stayed in, hmmm. otherwise a beautiful place, service would have been 5/5 if it were not for the wifi problem!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Excellent with one exception....my shower never got hot at any time over the 3 days.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Rolf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Armindo

Convenient and Clean hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was great staying at protea!!!
4 out of 5
by Adhemar

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Room C06, the wardrobe was stinking rotten yougurt of someone vomitted in there, reported it to the reception but nothing was done. could not unpacked our bags. too smelly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels