Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from sydney aust

nice hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: helped with laundry
Cons: Bathroom shower
Location: great for accessing wineyards around stellenbosh close to good restaurants java cafe a must
Good and helpful service room a bit small for a king double shower needs some attention breakfast excellent
4 out of 5
by CORNELIS

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
The location is tops.The groundfloor room was abit noisy due to the front door alongside,so my advice is a first floor room.The breakfAst was super,and overall I would give the guesthouse a 85/100 rating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below average

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Below average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average stay but ok for the price

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
We expected a bit more, was ok for the price i guess. Felt a bit run down, had to change rooms because first room was right next to kitchen and had rubbish outside window. No toilet paper in room. Friendly staff though. Limited tv channels, felt a bit like a dorm. Ok for one night sleep.
5 out of 5
by Nicholas

Quaint guesthouse in a quaint town

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Had a short one night stay in Stellenbosch and Riverbos was a great choice. You enter via a gated courtyard which has 24-hour manned security (although it doesn't seem necessary in such a quaint area). The staff was very helpful, providing great recommendations in town for food and wine. The breakfast was tasty and a great start to the day. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Crystal Schmidt, Hotel Management
Dear Nicholas, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Rivierbos Guest House. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management
4 out of 5
by Solomon from Hong Kong

Nice Place to Stay.

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice little place to stay and explore downtown Stellenbosh. Rooms are cozy if a little cramped and the Wi-Fi doesn't work too well in the rooms.Service was good and breakfast yummy. Wanted to stay another night but fully booked on a weekday so must be popular!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Crystal Schmidt, Hotel Management
Dear Solomon, We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Rivierbos Guest House. We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Management
2 out of 5
by Gerard from Nuenen, Netherlands

Out of date guesthouse

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
It is an old building which is not a problem as long as it is maintained properly, and renovated in time. The Rivierbos Guesthouse was not uptodate and needs a large renovation. The bathroom was completely outofdate, the shower was not giving enough water to get wet properly, and the water was leaking on the floor. The standard rooms are quite small. The breakfast was good, nothing wrong with that. I believe that the owner must invest or lose his business in the coming years.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location poor room

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Make the room larger and provide some privacy without losing natural light.
The location and staff of this hotel are excellent. There is also excellent secure parking on site. Unfortunately the room was minute. You couldn't lay out a bag any where without blocking movement around the room. The bathroom door wouldn't open fully because the bed was in the way. If you wanted to watch the tv (which we didn't) it was mounted on the wall at right angles to the bed. One wall was a full length patio style sliding glass doors which opened out onto the main corridor. To maintain privacy the curtains needed to be drawn resulting in no natural light in the room. Fortunately we spent little time in the room so got by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great if you don't have a car

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
I ended up on Waal street which was a really nice location in Bo-Kamp but the downside was that the security guard to watch your car if on Rose st about a 6mins walk. The breakfast is on a self-serve basis, you want eggs, you cook 'em!