Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by barry from Ickenham

Perfect stay

Posted Jan 22, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleasantly surprised at everything about this hotel and thouroughly recommend it. It's only A few minutes out from the centre of Srellenbosch in a fantastic country location. I wish that we had booked more nights three as it's handy for touring the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morris County, NJ

Sugar Bird Wonderful

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: See the foregoing comments.
Cons: See the foregoing comments.
Location: You absolutely must have lunch or dinner at Clos Malverne, which is less than a mile away.
I enjoyed Sugar Bird Manor very much. The property is simply gorgeous; I am still showing photos of the room and grounds to my friends. The views are spectacular and the property seems very secure (it is surrounded by an electric fence). I would prefer, however, if the front desk were staffed 24/7. One unappreciated incident: the cleaning staff left the veranda door to my room wide open, and I had to lock it and the windows. Anyone could have walked right in. I had to leave before breakfast for an early morning flight and, thus, was unable to have breakfast, which I would have liked to have enjoyed. I would definitely return to this lovely bed and breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Jill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent place
5 out of 5
by Terry from kent

Relaxtion, peaceful and views to die for.

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
Located a short drive out of Stellenbosch, overlooking the a valley. Very peaceful with great and helpful staff. An ideal spot for those relaxing afternoons you need by the pool. The views are fantastic. Located on a working vineyard, secure site. Staff will be able to assist in any of the wine tours you have in mind, honesty bar and free espresso coffee an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A place of real beauty and elegance

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: It was quiet at night and the beds were very comfortable. Staff very welcoming.
Cons: See above re the lack of a fire in the guest lounge, but failing that a more comfortable chair and preferably two in the bedroom. My wife and I ha
Location: Stellenbosch is full of interesting things to do plus 100 or more wine cellars to visit in the area.
One criticism, what a pity there was no log fire in the guest lounge where one could spend a cold evening otherwise a dream place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Holiday

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing location and view!
4 out of 5
by Joe from USA

Quiet place to rest

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great place away from it all for peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Colin from Brisbane

Quet location, clean and comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely quiet location. Comfortable stay. Breakfast great. Could have done without seeing two cats walk all over the adjoining table in the breakfast room and everytime we opened our room door we had to push cats away. Service minimal as you are on your on after 5pm which didn't worry us, but maybe a concern for those who like someone available always.