Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Perfect Winery Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Everything. Friendly staff, good wine, beautiful property, fantastic food
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: It is very conveniently located. It is a 5-10 minute drive to Stellenbosch downtown where you find find more restaurants and shops.
Our family had a wonderful stay at Spier. The whole place is beautiful. Great restaurants in the property (do not miss the Eight) and fantastic breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Dear Gabriel, Thank you for sharing your review with us, we truly appreciate and value the feedback, it makes us very proud that you are reviewing Spier Hotel. The team will be motivated to receive such kind praise of their endeavours. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Stunning!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Service, grounds, room, design, restaurant.
I can't say enough positive things about Spier Hotel at the Spier Wine Farm. They provided top notch and warm service from the time we booked and even up until now--I have written back to inquire about some of the art and I always get timely and kind correspondence. It is a gorgeous property that is just like a Contemporary Art Museum. Amazing collection of art and such gorgeous rooms and spaces and kind people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm, comfortable, spotless

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Easy to find. Friendly and welcoming. It was a chilly evening and we used the gas coal fire which was perfect. Lovely room - high ceilings, comfortable bed, spotless white linen. Bathroom and shower were both very good. Definitely recommend this for an out- of-town place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, it is always pleasing to read that you felt welcomed and cosy while you stayed with us. We will look forward to your next visit when you have a need to "get out of town" Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent as Always

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing, perfect.
I must admit to being biased as this is our sixth stay at Spier Hotel, though that in itself is a strong recommendation. From the moment we drove up, having flown in from Singapore that morning, we felt completely at home. The greeting from the porters and the front desk was so welcoming and all details of our stay were correctly recorded, including the spa experience for my wife and three daughters that had been booked in advance. We requested a booking at a retaurant in Stellenbosh and had a couple of other questions for the frot desk during our stay and they always got back to us quickly. The rooms are so big and airy and excellently furnished and the doors to an interconnecting room for the family and the extra bed for the second room were open and prepared. Breakfast is always the highlight of the stay for me and it did not let me down. Special kudos to Bridget in the dining area and Jackson, who manages to make the visit to the 'egg station' so wonderful with his ever cheerful greeting and happy wilingness to meet all of our family's needs for eggs cooked in different ways. We had one lunch at the Eight Restaurant and would recommend for the food and the ambiance as tables are set out under the trees. We stayed for four nights and were sad to move on, even though it as to the rest of our holiday. We look forward to returning on our next visit to Cape Town, hopefully later this year.
3 out of 5
by Hidetake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Nice Hotel with lots of onsight activities

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location -and the fact there is so much going on at the hotel itself
Cons: the bathrooms are very dated!
Location: So many wineries in the area!
Overall very pleasant, Food was good and the staff are very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed the wineries in the surrounding areas too. We are updating all our rooms and this will address your concern with your bathroom. The refurbishments will begin shortly. We hope that you will visit us again to see the differences. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Spier Leisure Management Team
4 out of 5
by Alexa

Wish we'd stayed longer!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful stay on a beautiful vineyard. Really sad we could only stay one night but ate at two of the restaurants, went wine tasting and had a great Segway tour
5 out of 5
by michael

Spier doesn't disappointty

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at Spier about 10 times over the years, it is an amazing place and very good value.
4 out of 5
by Vuyo

Good for some easy down time

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
It was lovely to take walks in the estate, the restaurants had such great food and the spa was rejuvenating with ladies who really know their stuff . I would recommend to those looking for some down time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fire alarm battery was low and kept bleeping.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Despite calling about the low battery it took nearly 2 hours before they removed it at midnight. They did replace this the next day. Poor maintenance. This should not have happened.