Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lot of facilities offered

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The room, the gardens and the warm fires.
Apart from a bad dining experience, which was courteously handled by manager Debbie, we had a very enjoyable stay. The Sedgeway Tour was fun, and the lads in charge were very patient and encouraging. We really enjoyed our visit to the Eagle Experience. It was disappointing to find that some of the restaurants were only operatiing limited hours, but on the whole a good visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: the grounds
Location: there are other wineries nearby
The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are very big and beautiful as well as the bathrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Perfect Winery Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Everything. Friendly staff, good wine, beautiful property, fantastic food
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: It is very conveniently located. It is a 5-10 minute drive to Stellenbosch downtown where you find find more restaurants and shops.
Our family had a wonderful stay at Spier. The whole place is beautiful. Great restaurants in the property (do not miss the Eight) and fantastic breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Dear Gabriel, Thank you for sharing your review with us, we truly appreciate and value the feedback, it makes us very proud that you are reviewing Spier Hotel. The team will be motivated to receive such kind praise of their endeavours. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
by tara

Spier 2017 july

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place friendly staff even if they were slow in the main restaurant and bar area.
5 out of 5
by Henry

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we genuinely appreciate all feedback and will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Stunning!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Service, grounds, room, design, restaurant.
I can't say enough positive things about Spier Hotel at the Spier Wine Farm. They provided top notch and warm service from the time we booked and even up until now--I have written back to inquire about some of the art and I always get timely and kind correspondence. It is a gorgeous property that is just like a Contemporary Art Museum. Amazing collection of art and such gorgeous rooms and spaces and kind people.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with excellent service!

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
What a wonderful hotel! From the moment you walk in the Spier staff goes out of their way to make it a wonderful experience, it is a 5 star property, we will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm, comfortable, spotless

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Easy to find. Friendly and welcoming. It was a chilly evening and we used the gas coal fire which was perfect. Lovely room - high ceilings, comfortable bed, spotless white linen. Bathroom and shower were both very good. Definitely recommend this for an out- of-town place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, it is always pleasing to read that you felt welcomed and cosy while you stayed with us. We will look forward to your next visit when you have a need to "get out of town" Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent as Always

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing, perfect.
I must admit to being biased as this is our sixth stay at Spier Hotel, though that in itself is a strong recommendation. From the moment we drove up, having flown in from Singapore that morning, we felt completely at home. The greeting from the porters and the front desk was so welcoming and all details of our stay were correctly recorded, including the spa experience for my wife and three daughters that had been booked in advance. We requested a booking at a retaurant in Stellenbosh and had a couple of other questions for the frot desk during our stay and they always got back to us quickly. The rooms are so big and airy and excellently furnished and the doors to an interconnecting room for the family and the extra bed for the second room were open and prepared. Breakfast is always the highlight of the stay for me and it did not let me down. Special kudos to Bridget in the dining area and Jackson, who manages to make the visit to the 'egg station' so wonderful with his ever cheerful greeting and happy wilingness to meet all of our family's needs for eggs cooked in different ways. We had one lunch at the Eight Restaurant and would recommend for the food and the ambiance as tables are set out under the trees. We stayed for four nights and were sad to move on, even though it as to the rest of our holiday. We look forward to returning on our next visit to Cape Town, hopefully later this year.
3 out of 5
by Hidetake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels