Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Large hotel with good facilities

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Good and spacious room and large patio leading on to grounds.
Cons: Quality of the food.
Location: A little remote from the town and shopping. However, it’s a winery so we should expect that.
We had a one nights stay and found the hotel quite good but somewhat impersonal. That may be because it’s focussed on conferences and large numbers of guests. The food was good but not intimate, catering more for large groups and buffet style meals. It’s location was distant from shopping and town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we truly appreciate the feedback, we use all feedback to better our service and guest experience. We will use your comments immediately and hope that when you visit us again you will feel and see the difference. Warm Regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Wonderful hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Spier is somewhere I’ll drfinitely return to. Everything was perfect there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay, we will definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Spier. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manger Spier Hotel & Leisure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lot of facilities offered

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The room, the gardens and the warm fires.
Apart from a bad dining experience, which was courteously handled by manager Debbie, we had a very enjoyable stay. The Sedgeway Tour was fun, and the lads in charge were very patient and encouraging. We really enjoyed our visit to the Eagle Experience. It was disappointing to find that some of the restaurants were only operatiing limited hours, but on the whole a good visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are pleased that Debbie assisted you with your dining experience. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon. Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: the grounds
Location: there are other wineries nearby
The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are very big and beautiful as well as the bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Spier. its pleasing to read that you enjoyed the farm and surrounding areas. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon. Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
4 out of 5
by Camilla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Perfect Winery Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Everything. Friendly staff, good wine, beautiful property, fantastic food
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: It is very conveniently located. It is a 5-10 minute drive to Stellenbosch downtown where you find find more restaurants and shops.
Our family had a wonderful stay at Spier. The whole place is beautiful. Great restaurants in the property (do not miss the Eight) and fantastic breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Dear Gabriel, Thank you for sharing your review with us, we truly appreciate and value the feedback, it makes us very proud that you are reviewing Spier Hotel. The team will be motivated to receive such kind praise of their endeavours. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
by tara

Spier 2017 july

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place friendly staff even if they were slow in the main restaurant and bar area.
5 out of 5
by Henry

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we genuinely appreciate all feedback and will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Stunning!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Service, grounds, room, design, restaurant.
I can't say enough positive things about Spier Hotel at the Spier Wine Farm. They provided top notch and warm service from the time we booked and even up until now--I have written back to inquire about some of the art and I always get timely and kind correspondence. It is a gorgeous property that is just like a Contemporary Art Museum. Amazing collection of art and such gorgeous rooms and spaces and kind people.