Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Amazing hotel for the family.

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Wow. Honestly amazing and we will come back. A hotel with that extra something that you can't quite put into words. Great staff, great kids club, lovely large clean room(s), great food and amazing wine. The site has something for everyone but I recommend you have a picnic, wine tasting (grape juice tasting for kids) and go and see the owls. Thank you for a great stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Large hotel with good facilities

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Good and spacious room and large patio leading on to grounds.
Cons: Quality of the food.
Location: A little remote from the town and shopping. However, it’s a winery so we should expect that.
We had a one nights stay and found the hotel quite good but somewhat impersonal. That may be because it’s focussed on conferences and large numbers of guests. The food was good but not intimate, catering more for large groups and buffet style meals. It’s location was distant from shopping and town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we truly appreciate the feedback, we use all feedback to better our service and guest experience. We will use your comments immediately and hope that when you visit us again you will feel and see the difference. Warm Regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the Leisure Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Wonderful hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Spier is somewhere I’ll drfinitely return to. Everything was perfect there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay, we will definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Spier. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manger Spier Hotel & Leisure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lot of facilities offered

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The room, the gardens and the warm fires.
Apart from a bad dining experience, which was courteously handled by manager Debbie, we had a very enjoyable stay. The Sedgeway Tour was fun, and the lads in charge were very patient and encouraging. We really enjoyed our visit to the Eagle Experience. It was disappointing to find that some of the restaurants were only operatiing limited hours, but on the whole a good visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are pleased that Debbie assisted you with your dining experience. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon. Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: the grounds
Location: there are other wineries nearby
The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are very big and beautiful as well as the bathrooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Spier. its pleasing to read that you enjoyed the farm and surrounding areas. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon. Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by Giuseppe

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic place. Spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Excellent service
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, it's wonderful to read you enjoyed your time at Spier. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope that your travels brings you back to the Cape Winelands. Warm regards, Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

my perfect holidays!

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
everything was perfect. room clean & good taste. lawn outside was well mainainanced. Definitely will come back
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, the team will be thrilled to hear of your kind words. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to welcoming you back to Spier soon. Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manager Spier Hotel & Leisure
5 out of 5
by Richard

Great Hotel.

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
We had a fantastic stay but the staff at this hotel are it's greatest asset. Excellent staff coupled with a great hotel resulted in a real relaxing break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Spier Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review, the team will be thrilled to hear of your praise about them, your words will be a great motivator to continue their excellent service. We trust you will be able to visit us again soon. Warm regards Lindsey Wallace Personal Assistant to the General Manager
4 out of 5
by Camilla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels