Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel review

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The hotel was awesome. I ate and drank at the bar and i used the spa services. Everything was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Great place for a romantic getaway!

Posted Nov 11, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at the lodge. From Dave who greeted us outside and helped with our bags to Tom who served us at dinner to Kendall who served us at breakfast, everyone was more than friendly and efficient in their roles. Kathy who was my masseuse for the couples massage literally put me to sleep, I haven't felt so relaxed in years! She and her partner did a great job. The spa was beautiful, moonlight hot tubbing is the best on a Sunday night when everyone had gone home! It's so close to portland but seems a world away! Thanks for a great experience!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gresham, OR

Lovely Getaway

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Cons: I like a pet friendly place, but for that and other noise distractions, better soundproofing would be good.
Location: There are not many places in the US with as lovely views and access to natural beauty.
The meal and spa were wonderful. We had a couples massage when we arrived, followed by a cod dinner with a scallop starter. The salmon chowder was quite special, as were the flavors with the scallops. All the staff was warm and accommodating. The room was very neatly appointed, not cramped, and had a lovely view. We retired early and were kept awake by a small unhappy dog next door. Loved the fireplaces and vistas. Morning yoga in our room was accompanied by breathtaking interplay of light and clouds up the gorge.
4 out of 5
by Kris

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
After a little hiccup at check-in, that being our reservation showed up as being cancelled. Chelsea, the front desk manager, went out of her way to get us a room, even though they were at capacity, and in addition, surprised us with some room service to compensate for the inconvenience. Overall the facilities were very nice. Our room was clean, but not as clean and up-to-date as you would expect for a room in this price range.
4 out of 5
by wayne

Very nice place

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
Food was great. Weather was poor so we didn't get to see much of the great views of gorge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sadly, very disappointing overall stay

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Pool/spa area overcrowded and extremely loud, filled by large groups of teens and youth. This hotel focuses as of late on conferences/large group bookings and not families or couples. Went there looking forward to relaxing, left stressed after we found the pool and hot tub areas overcrowded by youth and teens who had no respect of others. There were teens continuously smashing pool accessory toys on the water surface or bellyflopping for more than 1 hour on a peak Saturday evening. Also, the staff did not at any point fix the situation without being promoted. Found areas around the indoor hot tub covered in dead bugs and flies which clearly signals a lack of sufficient cleaning or proper hygiene around the spa areas. The overall quality of this hotel has drastically diminished since we've last stayed here about 6 years ago. Very sad as this used to be a pearl in the Gorge. Not any longer. The rooms are in desperate need of repair and we could easily tell there has no improvement in the rooms since we've last stayed here. The bathroom looked especially worn out. This place is filled by loud conferences and not the relaxing place it used to once be. Sad to even leave this review but we won't be returning here again. We'll try Sunriver Resort or even some new Leavenworth resorts for the future fall/winter seasons.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

small rooms

Posted Sep 29, 2017
on the first floor so most of the view was obstructed by trees (paid extra for a river side room) supposed to be a king bed, it was queen size.
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Hotel!!! We always go back 3-5 times a year!

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Orbitz
We enjoy everything about this hotel!!! We love all the amenities and activities the hotel offers... we love coming here each season to enjoy all the different things the hotel has going on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but not luxury

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The bed was nice and comfortable, but the bathroom is incredibly outdated. Also, the room wasn't fully stocked when we checked in - there were no washcloths in the room at all and the coffee pot had used grounds inside. I am a frequent traveler and it is always alarming when I find issues like this because it indicates how thorough (or not) the cleaning staff is. That always worries me. Particularly at a luxury hotel like this one. Also, the hotel is not well-insulated. We went to sleep and we're woken up to the people above us pounding on their floor. I suspect it was children who were allowed to run all over their room by inattentive parents, but either way, it was exceptionally disturbing.