Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

small rooms

Posted Sep 29, 2017
on the first floor so most of the view was obstructed by trees (paid extra for a river side room) supposed to be a king bed, it was queen size.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but not luxury

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The bed was nice and comfortable, but the bathroom is incredibly outdated. Also, the room wasn't fully stocked when we checked in - there were no washcloths in the room at all and the coffee pot had used grounds inside. I am a frequent traveler and it is always alarming when I find issues like this because it indicates how thorough (or not) the cleaning staff is. That always worries me. Particularly at a luxury hotel like this one. Also, the hotel is not well-insulated. We went to sleep and we're woken up to the people above us pounding on their floor. I suspect it was children who were allowed to run all over their room by inattentive parents, but either way, it was exceptionally disturbing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilsonvilllle, Oregon

Terrible service!! Absolute joke of a restaurant!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Staff was incompetent. Restaurant was the worst most expensive meal of all time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful vistas in the north west

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We went to Skamania for a wedding of friends. They did an amazing job with the wedding and the sight could not have be more picturesque. Sitting out on the plentiful adirondak chairs to what the sunrise over the Columbia river gorge or for an evening drink was a trip highlight! Restaurant choices are limited to the two in the lodge and some in the tiny town near by but the food quality was quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Expansive views

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Hiking and river activities, lot of wineries and brew pubs (Walking Man Brewer in Stevenson was great and has good food). Maryhill Museum.
The location and views of the river made this a great place to stay.The views from their terrace are wonderful and expansive with lots of seating to while away an afternoon - watching families play on the lawn while sipping something cold. However, our non-river-view room was a bit dark and felt a little claustrophobic. Being next to the hotel's mechanical structure did nothing to improve the ambience or night-time noise either. So I highly suggest you ask for a river view and check out your room location. I was surprised that the venue focused so much on golf - the hotel nature paths basically circle the golf course. But there are many places within a quick drive from the hotel, so more hiking/outdoor activities are easy to get to. Service was fine. Dining options are fairly standard, slightly pricey hotel options. Try eating in Stevenson for lower prices and more fun choices. Workout room was adequate, nice swimming pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Valet parking Driver works as the Bell Man at the same time, I had to wait for my Car for over 20 minutes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maui

Special weekend

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Everything, except restaurant.
Cons: The food at the restaurant. How can you mess up mac and cheese? Like soup! Should have sent it back to kitchen!
Location: We just stayed at the lodge. It is very big.
Booked an additional room for family for a special weekend together while visiting them in Portland. Perfect choice. We all loved it!
4 out of 5
by Frank

Nickel & Diming you

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
The extra fees were a little suprising. It felt like nickel & diming us. Two fees addeded were for $23 and $24 and I have no idea what they were for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent stay. Will be back for more

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Cons: House Cleaning. During our stay house cleaning didn't bother coming in and tidying the room. We had left towels in the bath tub for replacement.
We were very pleasantly surprised by Skamania lodge. We had an excellent pre july 4th weekend. Room had an excellent view and staff was super helpful. Zip lining was loads of fun and we will be back again to spend more time in the lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Beautiful location, family friendly

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.
Location: The Columbia Gorge is one of the most beautiful places in the world, and full of recreational activities.
All of the staff we dealt with were excellent, customer service definitely a priority.