Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely hotel.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Where it was.The size of the room. Fantastic food. Lovely staff in the restaurant and lovely maintenance man!
Cons: Bathroom needs updating. Shower very poor as no pressure and fluctuating temperature. Air conditioning very necessary in very hot weather.
Location: In lovely village close to Brighton.
Spent 5 nights in very hot weather so sleep was difficult without air on. Breakfast was very good and would recommend the carvery. Other places to eat nearby and in next town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenda and Roy from Derbyshire

Very comfortable

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The condition and space of the rooms.
Cons: Receptionist training for one individual. It was possible that she was having a job interview over the telephone and may have subsequently left.
Location: Much cheaper than staying in Brighton itself and the associated parking charges. Park and ride not far away or use bus from village but it takes 1h
A very comfortable room with plenty of space, including the bathroom. The carvery was very good and if you look out for deals you can get it for £6.50. We arrived early before check in time as we wanted to visit Brighton but wanted to use park and ride so the staff took charge of our luggage had placed it in our room for our return. WeI would have given a higher rating if it wasn't for a receptionist who acknowledged our arrival, but continued a private conversation on the telephone. We waited 10 minutes before another member of staff arrived in reception to check us in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Hertfordshire

Beautiful village setting. Hotel exceptional

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Setting, cleanliness, staff and food.
Location: Location was excellent. Lovely castle ruins to visit with excellent views across the Sussex Downs.
Only stayed for one night but wished we had booked longer. Hotel is in a beautiful village setting. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Only had a lunch and breakfast there but both were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from High Wycombe

Decent hotel, pleasant but unremarkable stay

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: For the price was nice quality
Location: Easy walk into Steyning with great tea shops. Easy access to South Downs Way for hiking, cycling and scenery
Hotel easy to find, easy to park. Room was fine - comfortable bed, reasonably spacious and all expected amenities. Quiet location. Reception were friendly. Breakfast was good - great choice and well cooked. Ditto for dinner - self service carvery set up but great choice of dishes in addition to standard joints. Dining room is rather quaint - lots of smaller rooms so feels quite cosy although first dining area would be a bit like eating in a corridor as everyone walking through it all the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Dallas, Texas

English Charm in a small village

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly
Nice Quiet Country Hotel in small Village. Real UK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff,UK

Good hotel in pretty setting.

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Spacious room
Cons: crowded dining room
Location: Lovely location .Interesting places to visit nearby.
Dining room was very crowded - tables close together. hoice of buffet food for dinner and breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a quiet place

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Good hotel in a quite place. Friendly staff, good quality rooms. Good dining hall, good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek & Huarong from Norwich & China

A Good Hotel for Couples deserving of the best

Posted Nov 23, 2012
Pros: The friendly staff and excellent food
Cons: The beer it should be Sussex Best Bitter
Location: Ideal to visit all the best places that Sussex has to offer
My wife and I visit Sussex every three months and since we have found this hotel we only stay elsewhere if the Tollgate is full. The staff are always friendly, the hotel is spotless and the food excrellent. The only fault I can find is the beer. It should be Sussex Best bitter at the best hotel in Sussex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from UK

No fuss comfortable hotel.

Posted Sep 28, 2012
Pros: Pretty and quiet location.
Cons: Thin walls meant TVs and conversations were intrusive.
Small, pleasant hotel in a pretty village. Restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Good parking and quiet location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Cannock Chase

"An Oldie's View"

Posted Mar 28, 2012
Pros: Easygoing and friendly staff
Cons: Late night party goers leaving restaurant! Will request room in annex next time.
Location: "olde world setting"England as it was.(except local prices)
We have returned to this hotel 3 times in recent years.We are two "oldies"and find it meets our requirements perfectly ,plus great food. Position of hotel is perfect for walking expeditions, bus journeys,and local pubs and alternative eating places.,