Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milwaukee wi

Hot air ballon

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pros: Great hot tub
Cons: The breakfast wasn't that great
Location: Close to St Paul and snow sculptures,ice castle and hot air balloon festivals
Really enjoyed the hot tub after watching the hot air balloons and the ice castle great hot tub
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2018 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear that you really liked the hot tub. We will work hard on enhancing breakfast. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN

No frills but, clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Location to Stillwater
Second time staying here while visiting Stillwater. Good Value and the hotel staff was very nice and even though the rooms are dated they are clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2018 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us again! We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the staff, and the clean and comfortable room at a good value. We appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Ended up in this hotel because the hotel we were originally booked at was falsely advertised (completely different than pictured) and none of the pool facilities were functioning. Expedia tried to make it right, but this hotel was definitely a step down from what we were looking for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2018 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are sorry that your original reservation at a different hotel didn't go well. I hope you were able to enjoy the working pool and spa at our hotel. Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

Not the hotel pictured. Worn & dingy.

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Our room was promised to sleep 5. I also called 3 Days in advance, immediately after booking, to ensure they would have a crib available for our 22 month old and a main floor room, bc we have a disabled family member. When we arrived, it looked nothing like the pictures. At check in, we were promised a crib with extra pillow and blanket. It never arrived. We called the front desk a few hours later, and they told us we could come down and get it. When we went straight down to get it, the staff “couldn’t find it,” and suspected “it had been given to someone else, first. And they only have one.” even though I had called to reserve it days in advance and specifically didn’t pack one! The room was not at all what was pictured. Only slept 4. And it was dirty and dingy. (I was grossed out by the gunk on the phone, and when one of the kids spilled water on the bathroom floor and I wiped it up, the towel was covered in dirt! The paint was chipped and cracking everywhere. We also got the pleasure of listening to the couple next door argue and fight all night, while our baby ran wild without a crib, and the super-unruly kids down the hall, laughing and screaming... There were at least 15 people down at the pool and no towels. When we requested more, she brought out 5. And there were people literally bringing large, glass wine bottles, complete with sippy-cups and a giant corkscrew!! You get what you pay for, but I still over-spent on this!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. We will work hard to fix the housekeeping/maintenance issues with the room. Our policy for crib and roll away is first comes first served. After reviewing your reservation the room booked was for 2 queen beds for 2 adults (generally a queen bed does sleep two adults), and it helps if the special requests are made on your reservation while booking. Regarding other guests, there is only so much you can do and control. However; our front desk clerk did manage to ask the arguing couple to leave the property, they certainly were not there all night. We do appreciate your feedback it gives us an opportunity to serve better. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Champlin, MN

Expecting a little more

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The lighting in the room, made it feel like the 70’s.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
We are sorry you were not pleased with the lighting. We will work on fixing the issues you had experienced. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Definitely the price you pay for. I'm not saying it's a terrible place, but its definitely behind on cleanliness and updates. The staff was super friendly, and everyone kept to themselves which was nice. If you're needing to stay somewhere, and low on cash, this is a place to consider. They do their best, but in today's hotel world, it really doesnt compare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback. We have started some upgrades, we apologize for the slow progress.
1 out of 5
by Samantha

WORSE PLACE EVER

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Hotels
Scheduled my stay at midnight but I did it online so it was for the following night instead. The guy wouldn’t switch the dates, no refund either. Then Friday night I checked in and stayed, the guy harassed me and invaded my personal privacy. I was out in my car smoking a cig and he thought I was doing funny business so threatened to call the cops on me and kicked me off property no refund either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017
We are sorry for the inconvenience you had, but our staff did observe the cameras and was just doing his job by letting you know to switch the head lights off of your vehicle since another guest had complained about them being on for a while. Also, you had brought a huge dog over 30 lbs into a non pet friendly room when we have certain pet-friendly rooms at a charge of $15.00 per night. Regarding the prepaid reservation, you booked a weekday night wanting to stay on a weekend. There is a price difference. When it gets to a point where so many issues are experienced with a guest, the staff handled it in a way it should have. If you did not have any suspicious activity going on then you would have waited for the officers to arrive, but you left on full speed. We work hard to provide a safe and secure stay to our guests and take precaution for the same reasons.
4 out of 5
by kasimir

happy stay.

Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Hotels
great area ,clean,showers need work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017
We appreciate your feedback. We will definitely look into it for improvements. Thank you for staying with us!
1 out of 5
by sandra

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
Place good use a good cleaning and better upkeep. My room had little to no heat and had to be given a portable space heater. In addition, the facility had electrical problems in bathroom (light kept going out) and plumbing problems (toilet not flushing properly)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017
We are sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We will work hard to fix the issues you addressed. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
by Maleena

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for staying with us!