Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

HORRIBLE Place to Stay

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
This was horrible from the beginning. We get into our room for the first time, the smell of cigarette smoke was EXTREME. I went to the front desk immediately to see if we could change rooms (this was about 10 minutes after the 3PM check-in time), they said they could not. They had someone come up and spray some freshener and put an air purifier in the room. The air purifier automatically shuts off after 60 minutes and was basically pointless. The air NEVER got better and we had someone with smoke allergies with. It does not end there, there were long-term guests in the hotel that made us feel unsafe. We ordered a pizza and had the delivery guy walk us back up to our room because the other guests were in the hallway half naked making us feel uncomfortable. We woke up as early as possible to get out of that place! This was the only place available in Stillwater for us to stay that night otherwise there is no way we would have stayed there. IT WAS HORRIFIC!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel has temporary issues

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Old, but clean. Nice staff.
Cons: Lock on back door needs to be repaired and made functional.
Location: Stillwater has a ton of restaurants and summer fun on the St. Croix River. Lots of shopping and things to do.
This hotel is undergoing remodel in the lobby. The staff is pleasant but they have a huge security issue in that the back door does not lock. I won't utilize this hotel until this issue is resolved.
1 out of 5
by Patty

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
We tried checking in early but room was not ready. Glad it wasn't, the place was all under construction and looked awful! Not even super 8 anymore. Was called Asteria I guess. Needless to say we didn't return to check in. Ended up staying at the Waterstreet Inn and had a wonderful time in Stillwater. I think we should be reimbursed! They should close there doors while under construction!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
I respect that it is under construction and new management. However, having some drinking water available or a beverage at breakfast would have been nice and pretty easy to accommodate.
2 out of 5
by Kendall

Not booking on line next time.

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is no longer a Super 8 and was under construction. Breakfast area was all sawdust and Sheetrock dust. No way I was going to eat anything. Could not cancel because I booked on line and they could not or would not guarantee I would get my money back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No. Just no.

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk tv was loud at check in and could barely hear; check in was slow. Hotel name was different so we passed it the first time. Under construction. Paper thin pillows and hard bed. Hall smelled like sewer and you could here everything.
3 out of 5
by Matt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by jennifer

Not bad

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk lady was kind of awkward
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hours away.

easy access next to Perkins.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Very nice and quite stay. Friendly staff and clean rooms make it a pleasure to stay there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place to stay

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
"Breakfast" was the only thing lacking. Choices were limited to cold cereal, packets of oatmeal, toast/ bagels, a packaged mimi muffin or an apple. Strictly carbs, no protein items at all.