Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Right downtown

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel was super nice. We had a big hot tub in our room and a fireplace. It was huge! Right in the middle if town and walking distance to everything. Staff were wonderful. Breakfast included with our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cons: The bed was comfortable but the mattress didn't fit the frame so there was a 8-10" gap at the end of the bed...weird.
Location: drive south to Seasons Gallery in Hudson WI. Drive north to Taylors Falls to Interstate Park for interesting geological formations and hiking.
This is a good location from which to explore the St Croix River Valley. There are several restaurants nearby and the walkway along the river is a lovely way to work off your dinner. Be sure to drive north to visit the Interstate Park in Taylor's Falls for an interesting walk around the glacial potholes. Drive a few miles south to the lovely town of Hudson, WI. Don't miss Seasons Art and Craft Gallery. One of the best I've ever been to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Chuck, Hotel Management
Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WI

Up all Night

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We had one of the worst hotels stays of our lives. First, the bed was horrible. We could hardly sleep for the shaking and squeaking it made at the slightest move. About 2am we decided to try the day bed to see if it was better. It was, but there were no sheets! We looked all over the room and there were no extra linens. We decided to sleep on the mattress cover with a blanket because the other bed was so bad. Just as we were about to fall asleep at 3am a guy with a leaf blower starts cleaning the parking lot right under our window. This went on for over 1/2 an hour (we called the front desk to complain). Thanks to this and the bed, we were basically up for most of the night. We come to Stillwater often, but we will never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Bob, Hotel Management
There was no way there was someone with a leaf blower at 3 am, not sure what you are talking about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Decent historic hotel.

Posted May 28, 2017
Basically a pleasant experience. Clean, cordial, perfect downtown location! Hotel could use some sprucing up. Better lighting and paint. Less cloying floral would be a start! A historic structure only transcends the just-short-of-creepy category if it is maintained perfectly and has modern amenities. Weird tacky framed art over light cords which come down the walks on either side of the bed. TV was small and blurry. Noise on the south side is a bit much (bar across street); I inagine the river side is much better. Food from in-house pub was delicious. Parking comes free with room in adjacent lot -- which is excellent in a bustling downtown locale.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you
5 out of 5
by John

Water Street Inn worth it

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was nice, staff were very accommodating and friendly, great location, and their own parking lot, which is a plus in that area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is not well lit on the inside. It's old which I usually like, but in addition to this place being old, it's also creepy. I felt like I was the only person staying in the entire place as I saw no other bodies besides the girl who checked me in. My room had three sconces and the lighting was not good because of the way they were spaced out.. My TV would not change channels and the front desk was called, but clueless how to help. The bathroom sink has zero space to put make up, or curling iron or anything on and the bathroom fan was VERY VERY loud. If I had paid full price, I would have been incredibly angry about the price I paid. Either way, I won't stay there again. Sorry, but if you could spiff the place up a bit, I'd be back since I'm in the area pretty often.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kim

Getaway from everyday life

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
There is no better located hotel in Stillwater. It is old and the rooms are hit and miss. Some are better and have had more updating than others. This stay we had the best room we've ever had. It was a suite and on the top floor corner overlooking the river. Nice little balcony. The bed was hard and the pillows , not good, but everything else was awesome. I always feel that for the accommodations, it's a little pricey. I've stayed in many others much nicer for much less. The TVs are terrible. I've been in rooms that have broken furnishings or busted up vertical blinds. That's a little irritating when you spend 200.00 on a room. Overall though I do like this hotel very much. Great Pub and outdoor area on the river that can't be beat.
4 out of 5
by Rachel

Nice little place

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
It's a nice little place to stay. Can't be the location being right down town.
5 out of 5
by Jason

Historic and comfy hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely no complaint in the world, this hotel is gorgeous and has more charm than any other place in the area!