Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

An OK experience but nothing to rave about

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location and ambience
Cons: Lifts/elevator upgrade. Meal choices.
Location: Close to Stirling and its attractions. DO NOT MISS THE CASTLE.
This hotel looked great in the pictures and the reviews on this website and Trip Advisor were really good. So set against that backdrop, it was a disappointment. Check in was fine. The young man who was in the hall was busy with lots of other stuff. His words "I am kind of a one man show at the moment.: But he was pleasant. He offered to help us with out suitcases but we had small ones. BUT then we see an elevator (Lift) with the words that it was for bags only not guests. So set against that, climbing three flights of stairs to the 3rd floor for two people in their 60s was a bit if a huff and puff exercise. Dinner menu looked better than it was. We had a nice table overlooking the grounds. Lovely. Bit food was mediocre, albeit well presented. Just bland. Room was small but comfortable and clean. But the floor boards creaked, sound carried and we had a noisy family across the hall who came in late and somewhat inebriated. That of course was NOT the hotel's fault but it did color our experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable converted castle

Posted May 23, 2017
Comfortable well furnished room. Excellent restaurant. Good car parking.
5 out of 5
by Garry

Worth a visit

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place. Staff incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa.

Absolutely wonderful!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
From the moment we stopped, we were treated like we were royalty! Everyone was more than accommodating, and made us feel welcomed. During dinner, Scott came and talked to us about the history and many other things. I cannot express how wonderful our stay was. There were bagpipes outside our window, which capped off the stay. I would recommend to anyone looking to book here! This food was awesome, and this ended up being the highlight of our trip through the U.K.
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Lovely view and first class communication before and after we arrived.
5 out of 5
by Cornelius

First class

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were friendly and we're on hand to ensure stay was enjoyable. Breakfast was plentyfull and evening dinner was cooked to perfection.
4 out of 5
by Lynda

Pretty castle and brilliant staff.

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were absolutely first class. Scott was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. One day all hotel staff will be this good.
4 out of 5
by Irene

Unusual hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly helpful staff. Nice size of room with turret off it! Spacious bathroom. Clean and tidy. Only downside was the lack of decent electric lighting in the bedroom but especially the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west lothian

beautiful setting with wonderful views

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: friendliness of staff and marvellous setting
Cons: driveway.
Location: there are loads of small villages/towns close by that all have that good feel to them
From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated superbly well and the staff are at hand if you need them. I would recommend this beautiful hotel to everyone to visit.