Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great place to stay.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Perfect location for a short walk into town.
Stuart was very obliging and helpful - brilliant breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington state

Good location in Sterling! Stuart was most helpful

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Quiet and well appointed.
Location: Can walk to William Wallace monument and Sterling Bridge from Guesthouse.
Came into House with smell of freshly baked bread and a great, friendly welcomeby Stuart. Good location for Sterling and buses and Taxis handy for non-walkers. Recommend resturant at end of road towards William Wallace Monument! Sterling is a beautiful area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bolton

Nice comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Bed,bedroom ,bathroom,breakfast,wifi,friendly owner.
Cons: N/a
Great room with a very good bed. New bathroom and a really filling breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Quaint

Posted Oct 16, 2015
We only had one night in the most adorable town of Stirling! The room was small but VERY clean and extremely comfortable! The owner was attentive and kind considering we were both actually sick! Breakfast was delicious! We would recommend this to anyone who doesn't need a lot of space! It's quite cozy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look elsewhere

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: price
Cons: really needs a complete re-do
Rundown hotel not very close to anything useful and very limited parking. Staff was nice and very friendly, but the rooms were teensy and very dated and not comfortable for 2 adults. I would prefer to be nearer the castle next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2015 by Stuart, Hotel Management
I was very disappointed to have received your review, I would have loved to have spoken with you at the time of your stay to discuss any issues you had, you will see from other reviews I am very approachable and appreciate feedback. Apologies if you found the house run-down, again it would have been great to discuss this in order to understand what you found wrong. The house has been recently decorated and most bedrooms have solid oak furniture which is less than two years old. The mattresses are also quite new and the whole house is equipped with free superfast Wi-Fi. Two of the shower rooms are dated but work well, they are being upgraded this coming winter. The house was built in 1890 and some rooms are on the small side, but this is to accommodate the en-suite shower rooms. The room sizes are stated on the booking website. Sorry you did not like the location or the parking. The location is shown on the booking website. The house is about a 20/25 minute walk from the city centre or 5 minutes in a car, plus there are numerous bus services with stops near the house. There is sufficient parking for three cars plus street parking nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly landlord comfortable room

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Friendly accommodating comfy room with wifi. Only downside is that local quality eateries are limited
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Excellent stopover

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Stayed here to break the journey to Aberdeen. Excellent advice from our host re where to park in Stirling for our evening meal and lovely walk before our meal. Only slight complaint would be that the room was very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staying!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The staff, the location, the room, the breaksfast...the everything
Cons: The road was on work but it will be soon repaired.
Location: Close to the Wallace monumment and 15' quiet walk from the centre passing near the beheading stone. Great.
The room was very nice and the location as well, a nice walk from the city centre. Everything was easy and comfortable. Absolutely recommendable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Pleasant three day break

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Warm welcome and good breakfast.
Location: Convenient for castle (up-hill walk!) and 20 minute walk to the station.
A three day stop on the way back home. Warm welcome and host was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Comfortable, friendly and clean

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Super comfortable room. Bed was really nice.
Location: Residential area but a short drive into the center.
We had a great stay here - it was super comfortable with lovely sheets and pillows. Stuart was super helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious.