Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Shame beautiful hotel rooms let it down

Posted Apr 22, 2016
We got upgraded which makes me wonder what the other rooms were like. There was a leak outside our room into a bucket. The light above our door was and broken so hard to put key into keyhole as it was flickering like a bright mad disco. The Jacuzzi bath did not work such a shame was very excited to chill in that. No bath robes even though listing stated (so l didn't bring my dressing gown). We had booked a twin room due to my husband's height and pushing two beds together makes it easier and more room, we actually got a double bed which was also the most uncomfortable mattress ever. We didn't sleep as the road noise is very loud from cars and people so Windows couldn't be opened the only window that could be left open that wasn't that close to road kept shutting itself. There was no guest information so couldn't ring for room service or know what time breakfast or check out was, we checked online. It felt like the room wasn't ready for us and we had just been a last minute throw in that room. The nightclub was empty (although a private party in the other closed side so somebody got to have fun). The breakfast was lovely and catered well for me being a coeliac. The bar was nice and cocktails lovely. The staff were all pleasant and kind. It was clean and the main hotel is beautiful just the rooms let it down (well ours).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Large room. Quiet area. Very friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Nice place with rooms now at a sensible price.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Room cleaning
This is a nice hotel in a good location. be aware there is no chef for evening meals on a Mon/Tues. This should be shown when you book! However there are a number of places within 5 minutes walk. You can even get a takeaway and eat in the bar or your room. Staff were very pleasant throughout my stay. Room cleaning left a little to be desired but was OK overall. Food was good and reasonably priced. Just one thing I would love to change...... get rid of the little tea cups in the room and put some decent mugs in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

nice hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: clean well kept hotel. very close to university campus.
Location: stirling castle, small park, shopping centre
Stayed for 1 night. Had a wonderful nights sleep. The hotel was luxurious very friendly staff and good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

A nice hotel in a beautiful town!

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: The location was excellent.
Cons: Not a thing!
The hotel staff were absolutely fantastic - especially Hannah Johnson. She gave us all sorts of ideas of where to visit and what to see. The room was very nice and extremely comfortable. The food was excellent although the serving portions are HUGE!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Not good, staff not present. Tired. Significant issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Lovely stay

Posted May 18, 2015
We came to Bridge of Allen to pick up a University Student. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent decor and the lovely friendly staff. The hotel was pretty full and other guests rather loud when they retired but that is not the hotels fault it was a private party. We had drinks in the bar and although they were not cheap the tumblers were cut glass which was a lovely touch. The shower in our room was amazing. l would definitely recommend a stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check under your bed!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Attention to detail would go a long way to improving this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Small changes could make a real difference, more towels, better courtesy tray, few repairs, generally more tender loving care.
Location: Bridge of Allan is less than 5 minutes by train to Stirling & 40 minutes to Glasgow. It's an a nice place; quiet but places to eat & a couple of pubs
Bridge of Allan is worth visiting ; close to Stirling, one or two nice restaurants - including one at the hotel. Had a small single room. Overall, okay, but a little tired. Carpet bit grubby; lovely bathroom, but whilst I think fairly new already damaged, e.g. cracked sink. Generally could be much better with a little more effort, e.g. lack of towels - by last day I had one. Courtesy tea, coffee, biscuits not replenished; nothing too worrying but a bit annoying. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartford Kent

Great hotel, well located, free car park.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Well located, 10 minute walk to the Bridge of Allan railway station, from which the journey into Glasgow Queen St. station is 40 mins. A bus ride to
Cons: Repair doorbell, for guests returning after hotel has locked up.
Location: Limited time, so unable to visit any of the many attractions, including Stirling Castle. But will certainly return to the area. Railways and bus near
We based ourselves in Bridge of Allan, whilst visiting the Commonwealth games in Glasgow. So basically looking for somewhere to rest our heads. We received a warm welcome from the reception staff Ian, who made checking in a breeze. Our room was huge and so was the en suite. We needed some extra clothes hangers and these were supplied on the spot. There was plenty of supplies relating to tea and coffee with a wide selection. Unusually for a British hotel they had a fridge which was an absolute bonus. Breakfast offered a very good selection of foods/juices ( I couldn't resist the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which was 'delish') in the high street there were a good selection of shops, restaurants and a great fish & chip shop. When I revisit Scotland I will definetly consider this hotel, from which you could drive or use public transport to visit some of the many places of interests.