Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything for walking

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Proximity to everything for walking. Easily assessed when coming into Stirling, staff friendly and cheery
Quick efficient reception, plenty of parking. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Close to the Castle

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great location.
Cons: The selection of gin in the bar, having Bombay Sapphire as your best gin isn't good enough when there are so many fantastic Scottish Gins available
Location: Stirling Castle, The Church of the Holy Rude, The Battle of Bannock Burn site, The Wallace Monument. Many other historical sites are close by.
The hotel is located nice and central to Stirling just a few minutes from Stirling Castle. You can easily walk to the castle and other tourist sights and shops in Stirling. The Wallace Monument is a few minutes away by car. We arrived early but we were still given a room and the room was nice and clean. The windows open which allows fresh air in, rather than some hotels relying on air-conditioning which I don't like. Plenty parking spaces was available at check in, with no charges for parking which makes a nice change from some hotels I've stayed at recently.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location near Stirling castle

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff. Very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Better decoration, fixtures in room as they need updating.
Location: Good location, close to Stirling castle. Great views.
Excellent staff, excellent food in restaurant. Good breakfast buffet. Good location close to Stirling castle and town centre. Room very outdated, needs decorating properly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

The best!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Very central location. Beautiful building and setting. Excellent through and through, from the first welcome by brilliant staff, the room was perfect and the food was second to none from breakfast to our evening meal. Cannot fault it at all and we will definitely be staying here again! Loved it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely has history

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Everything in this place is old, from the beautiful historic stone walls to the not so beautiful carpets, paint, fittings and furniture. Definitely needs refurbishment before it can claim 4 star status.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to weddings function we were attending

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Close to town centre
Cons: X
Location: X
Only stayed 1 night as attending a wedding in hotel next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Very good location in Stirling with parking. Excellent fitness facilities for a hotel of this size. Excellent value for money, I'd stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Great hotel with good central location.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Very comfortable hotel. Great staff, happy to recommend for business or pleasure users.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

In the heart of Stirling with lots of atmosphere

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, observatory.
Cons: Raise the bathroom standard, remove the overhead floor squeaks!
Location: Minutes walk from Stirling Castle, close to various monuments and the Southern Highlands. The road to Fort William is stunningly beautiful.
Ex-school with good food, plenty of space and a roaring log fire on those cold evenings. The hotel will give visitors a tour, including the Observatory, which has a fantastic Newtonian telescope. Our room suffered a little with noise from above but was otherwise fine. The bathroom was a bit tired but clean and functional. We did need an additional heater which the hotel staff provided without a fuss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Very traditional Scottish themed hotel.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Lovely meal in restaurant, very good breakfast. Our daughter loved getting to play in the swimming pool. Good location for walking to the castle and the town centre, lots of car parking available.