Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Ideal hotel for visiting the university

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Rooms comfortable. View is staggering . Lovely vibe here.
Cons: Breakfast could be a little less strict. I arrived at 8.30am to be treated rather like I was a bit of an inconvenience.
Location: Beautiful. Ideal for a walk to th Wallace monument.
I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was basic, yet charming. The location was ideal for the university, or, as I was, a visiting company for the MacRobert Arts centre. Breakfast time was a little strict, but the chef plated up a delicious cooked breakfast as I was 4 minutes after 9am! Incredible countryside surrounds you. I'll definitely return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Rooms were OK and new our room was down a 2 block hallway on the ground floor so we could not open our window and it was very warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pretty good overall. Well organised and comfortable. Happy to stay here again. No lift though, which seems odd had to carry heavy cases up and down stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Nice hotel close to Stirlingshire's attractions

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Economical price and good location to explore Stirlingshire.
Location: Next to the Wallace Monument. Ten minute drive to Stirling Castle. About 40 minutes from Glasgow town centre.
Clean and tidy hotel, no frills, but better than a budget hotel. Great breakfast and nice bar. Gym and swimming pool facilities available on the university campus, just a short 5 minute walk out of the hotel. Ample parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Well located for Stirling and central Scotland

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly hotel staff and helpful when asked about local restaurants and services.
Cons: Mattress was very uncomfortable.
Location: Cinema, cafes and theatre and a beautiful loch on campus. Great local bus service to Stirling and local area. Lots to do near by.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine with good choice. Beds were very uncomfortable - mattress was extremely firm. Unfortunately the pool was unavailable but this wasn't advertised in the details on line. Great bus service locally and comfortable enough for a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Really relaxing and pleasant.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Just so relaxing no fuss just come and go as one pleased.
Cons: Quite happy.
Location: Location is perfect for venturing around the Stirling area. Gym and swim are free to guests and they also have a 9 hole golf course.
The University is quite large but a very pleasant environment. We did have to ask directions as the hotel wasn't sign posted very clearly. But what a lovely place to stay. Was worth every penny. Staff were excellent. Food too was first class.
3 out of 5
by Yen Ying

Adequate layover

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Located a fair distance from the heart of Stirling. Rooms were basic but adequate for the evening. Breakfast was included, again basic but adequate.
5 out of 5
by Colin

Good accommodation and service.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
At a wedding not in a nearby venue. Stayed there for 3 nights. Brilliant value and service. Restaurant great and waitress called Laura was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Quiet and close to Stirling Castle.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Great room for the price and included breakfast.
Cons: The pub.
Location: Stirling Castle is close by and easy to get to.
Our stay was after graduation and the campus was quiet. The room was great but the pub was just so-so. It was a little hard for us to find the hotel once we got on campus.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Room was dated and needed refurbishing, service was good and the food was excellent, the room was not very comfortable and we stayed in one day due to the bad weather. Overall the two day stay was fine but could have been better if the room was more comfortable and a little cleaner. Would probably not use this hotel again although the food could not be faulted and the breakfast was exceptional, just a pity about the room.