Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Comfortable, clean, friendly.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We stayed for two nights and found the Channing to be adequate for our needs. The room was big and easily accommodated a third person. The cafe was a little disappointing as the food was average. The downside of this was that the hotel is not close to any pubs or restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, out of the way of city centre traffic.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Same as above.
Cons: N/A
Location: Not a lot of amenities close by but with a 35-40 minute walk you are in the city centre.
We found Channing's to be friendly, homey and clean. The staff were helpful and professional. Our room was very clean and serviced daily with clean towels, etc. The distance to city centre was a nice 30-40 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Pleasant hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Our room was small and bed a little uncomfortable, otherwise an excellent stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Parking is a Problem

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Room was nice and comfortable. Location if close to Castle & Royal Mile. The Staff is very professional, pleasant & helpful.
Cons: Guest a Parking.
Location: A mile walk to the Edinburgh Castle and High Street. Easy access to main freeways to other cities & points to visit in Scotland.
Our second stay at the Channing's. Very comfortable, very pleasant and helpful staff. But the parking near the hotel is very restricted. Most parking spaces are by permit only. The others are metered at 4£ for 2 hour, with a limit of 2 parking periods a day. The nearest public parking garage is a mile away at Edinburgh Castle Terrace. Which cost about 30 £ a day. Probably more practical to take a taxi or trains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Comfortable and friendly

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Quiet street, traditional decor, friendly and helpful staff. Good value.
Excellent location to explore city centre, Stockbridge, Dean Village area. We enjoyed walking and finding new streets to explore. Taxi from/to city centre/Royal Mile for less than £10. 3 of us travelling and no complaints. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff is nice. Rooms are spatious.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
But, water gets hot or cold rapidly. Hard to adjust the temperature. For two days, we took either very hot or very cold showers. 😕
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Provo, Utah

Great hotel off the beaten path

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Off the beaten path, but accessible. Great neighborhood. Very quaint.
Cons: There was no electrical outlet in the bathroom. Not a huge deal, but. . .
Location: Dean's bridge neighborhood. There is a great little market close by on Sunday. Edinburgh is enchanting!
A truly charming little hotel that is off the beaten path but close enough to several bus lines that getting to and from central Edinburgh is no problem at all (5 to 10 minute bus ride depending upon your destination). Our room was small (but quite normal for a European hotel) but nicely furnished and very comfortable. The staff was professional and efficient, some were more friendly and helpful than others, but all were completely acceptable. The breakfasts were wonderful- I recommend the smoked kippers and full Scottish. It's close to Dean's Bridge which is a picturesque little neighborhood. We would totally stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Dismal experience

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Of all the hotels we stayed in over the 3 weeks in the UK this hotel was simply the worst. From the check in wherein they argued about the pre-payment, out of service lift, Wi-Fi not functioning. The whole place was tired and run down and had the aura of 'downhill slide'. I never got warm water from the bathroom tap, altho fortunately the shower had warm water. The bistro in the basement was most uninspiring. No parking other than on street which was pay and display during the day. Two positives, nice big bright bathroom and they provided a good breakfast. Too bad really as it was in a nice neighbourhood.
5 out of 5
by Tim

Must stay here when in Edinburgh

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
One of he nicest hotels I've stayed in. Great staff, very clean. The restaurant is a gem.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels