Ratings based on 811 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Lastminute
Very comfortable boutique hotel. Great location in beautiful Stockbridge
3 out of 5
by Maureen

Good and Bad

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely upgrade to a suite but the room and hotel were extremely hot. The room was like a sauna, it was the underfloor heating in the bathroom apparently. Stayed there but had to open all the windows as it was so hot. Moved to another room the next day, still warm but was ok. This time it was a problem with the hot water, none at night but in the morning someone came up and turned all taps and eventually it came on - due to old building & boilers! Still a problem the next day and you go in the shower, extremely hot, then cold then comes on again. Breakfast good but again, air conditioning had to be turned on as room stifling. Decoration in some places are poor, could be a really good hotel, super location but just seems to be running down. Most of the staff are extremely helpful and polite. Would recommend but don't expect a 'boutique hotel' as that is what they call it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Worcester U K

Nice hotel, really convenient for Princes St.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Lovely Edwardian style, very peaceful and relaxed
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location to visit Edinburgh.
A very enjoyable week. A nice location very convenient for Princes St and Stockbridge
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location and period property

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: we were able to check in 2 hours early, beautiful view from our window, pleasing decor and room size was adequate considering we chose the 'petit double', bathroom was clean and modern, staff very welcoming and knowledgeable. Free parking out front on the weekends otherwise £2 per hour. Cons: paper thin walls so as our room was straight off the staircase and not off a hallway then every time someone came home to their room it was very loud. No hot water in the mornings in the shower, evenings were fine for hot water. Damp through the ceiling above the bathroom doorway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Comfortable, clean, friendly.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We stayed for two nights and found the Channing to be adequate for our needs. The room was big and easily accommodated a third person. The cafe was a little disappointing as the food was average. The downside of this was that the hotel is not close to any pubs or restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel, out of the way of city centre traffic.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Same as above.
Cons: N/A
Location: Not a lot of amenities close by but with a 35-40 minute walk you are in the city centre.
We found Channing's to be friendly, homey and clean. The staff were helpful and professional. Our room was very clean and serviced daily with clean towels, etc. The distance to city centre was a nice 30-40 minute walk.
5 out of 5
by David and Susana from Bradford

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our time at this hotel and will come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Pleasant hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Our room was small and bed a little uncomfortable, otherwise an excellent stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great Hotel, Great Staff, Parking is a Problem

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Room was nice and comfortable. Location if close to Castle & Royal Mile. The Staff is very professional, pleasant & helpful.
Cons: Guest a Parking.
Location: A mile walk to the Edinburgh Castle and High Street. Easy access to main freeways to other cities & points to visit in Scotland.
Our second stay at the Channing's. Very comfortable, very pleasant and helpful staff. But the parking near the hotel is very restricted. Most parking spaces are by permit only. The others are metered at 4£ for 2 hour, with a limit of 2 parking periods a day. The nearest public parking garage is a mile away at Edinburgh Castle Terrace. Which cost about 30 £ a day. Probably more practical to take a taxi or trains.