Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Old coaching hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: There is parking to the rear which is a bonus in Stockbridge with its congested on street parking.
Cons: Some upgrading
Location: Stockbridge has some decent shops and a choice of eating places. There is easy access to a footpath to National Trust water meadows.
If you like old style hotels this may suit you. Our bedroom, at the front had creaky floorboards and a generally tired look, as did the bathroom and the carpet on the stairs. We did not dine but breakfast was a disappointment. Admittedly there was overflow of guests from the dining room into the bar area, thus the hotel was busy but this should have been appreciated with extra staff to match. When our poached eggs arrived they were more like hard boiled eggs and would have been sent back had we had sufficient time having waited so long for service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ip122bd

Sad hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: It's in need of a refit. The Hotel is in a aweful state.
Location: Lovely village. Our time was ruined because of where we stayed.
sadly a huge disappointment . The hotel is owned by Green King and it's very run down. The staff are very nice and explained the Hotel has been waiting 7 years for a refit. Every time they think it's happening Green King change there mind. I have contacted Green King and have not had a reply back. The Hotel is very worn out. Plug sockets falling off the walls. Carpets are thread bare. Paint coming off, furniture tired and aweful. Curtain falling down and some even do not matching. In general the place is desperate need of a load of money being spent on it. the seat in the dining room are all stained. The hotel charges £100 or so per night. It's certainly not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury

Overall Good, could benefit from some TLC

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location, quiet
Room very nice, comfortable and clean. Food excellent. Building could do with some TLC though
4 out of 5
by Lionel

Convenient but a little tired.

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great staff, good food. Just a little dated and tired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More attention to detail required

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
As stated last time I stayed and will re-state, the place needs a lick of paint and some TLC. The shower in my room was not attached to the wall at all the anchor points, rawlplugs missing or hanging out. The paint work was flaking from the walls and wood. No power by the bed in this day and age? Breakfast understaffed, the waitress appeared to be manning reception, serving meals and cooking breakfast. She needs help guys! A fire alarm woke me twice, due to a guest smoking, but an apology was quickly forthcoming, thank you. This is a lovely setting and could be a very good hotel with a little more thought.
4 out of 5
by Emma

Comfortable, but the hotel is in need of a refurb

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The reception lady was lovely, nothing was too much trouble, due to being on a course, we needed an early prompt breakfast, this was organised and arrived on time. Bar staff & restaurant staff were lovely & helpful. The hotel is looking shabby and is in need of a refurbishment. The room was comfortable, but tired and excessively hot, especially for April, the window had been left open, but it was still too hot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tired, no Wifi, no hot water and dated

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Don't go anywhere near the place. Two cold showers, no wifi, comfy bed, but the decor was tired and in need of refurbishment. The staff whilst nice were not attentive nor well trained and wore food stained clothes. Customer service can be found when you hunt out the staff. The croissant at breakfast were stale and seemed as if they had just been taken out of the fridge. Coffee had been stewing for hours. Nightmare. Two poached eggs on toast had been dumped on two bare bits of toast. Terrible!
4 out of 5
by kevin

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
A nice night away with my partner nice hotel bed very comfortable and staff nice polite and friendly. Good food in the restaurant and price is very reasonable. Bar area is small and cosy good atmosphere we did not have a look out around the village as we arrived late but it looked very pictures and lovely. Room was fine but a lot of cobwebs on the curtain pelmet just needs a bit of love and care on the décor but overall I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfy bed

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Really comfy bed and good breakfast but hotel in dire need of refurb, very tired. Good parking.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent value.