Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, poor facilities

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The hotel itself and staff are nice, but the hotel was advertised on expedia as having a pool and tea facilities in the room, but the hotel had neither! Very poor expedia - stay up to date!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Unoda from Albany, Oregon

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay, and would stay there again on my next visit to Stockholm. The staff were great, I especially remember Fredrick who was very caring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with us! I will forward your regards to Fredrik. Welcome back to us next time you are in Stockholm and we will ensure you another great visit. Have a great week! Best Regards, Chatrine Andersson Guest Relation Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Great hotel in a good location

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: The breakfast buffet, the friendly and helpful staff - and an enormous really comfortable 6 foot bed
Cons: Nothing - everything was very good and we really enjoyed our stay
Location: City Hall tower for fabulous views over Stockholm, restaurant Spisa hos Helena set menu. Hop on Hop off CitySightseeing tours not recommended
We stayed for a short city break so the location was very convenient.. A stroll along the river path brought us to the City Hall, the water side, Royal Palace and Gamla Stan. The bus station is only a few minutes away, so very convenient for airport buses. The buffet breakfast at the Clarion was superb, fantastic choice and frequently replenished. The staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and although the hotel was busy it was very quiet so we were not disturbed by any noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by Chatrine Andersson, Guest Relation Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Penny, Thank you for giving us feedback from your recent stay at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, we really appreciate it. We are glad that our services has been great to you in every way and that our location helped you access the city easily. Hope to welcome you back to Amaranten one day!
4 out of 5
by Carlos from Weston, FL

Convenient location in a quiet neighborhood

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was ready for an early check in and they accommodated or needs for extra towels (4 people in the room) in no time. Good breakfast buffet. Nice clean hotel in a great area within walking distance If City Hall and other sights on the beautiful city of Stockhom.
1 out of 5
by John from Ilfracombe

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Room was not big enough to swing a cat in, overlooking a busy road with police sirens through the night. Not much sleep. Extortionate rates. Will Never stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So far from a 4 star hotel it's not even funny

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is having major renovation works done to the communal areas which means that breakfast is served in an area surrounded by scaffolding, with builders walking through, and totally unacceptable levels of noise. One day the builders continued heavy drilling during breakfast - so we were actually eating on a building site. Ridiculous. Staff didn't seem to care - no apology offered. My room was comfortable, spacious and the bathroom was all new and everything worked (good shower). There was some noise from the street below (I was woken every morning by the street-cleaning vans) so I think the insulation could probably be improved upon. However, they just hadn't taken any extra steps, and seeing as my room cost 290euros per night, I find it unacceptable to be left with one sachet of instant coffee and a travel kettle rather than a coffee machine (which I think are pretty standard in most 4 star hotels) + the toiletries were never replaced during my stay, not even a bottle of water was provided. Two single duvets on a double bed made for silly bedding arrangements and again a clear indicator of lack of care. I cannot stress how far this hotel is from a four star establishment. A couple of other things: the swimming pool is too tiny to do any swimming in and the sauna doesn't work, so definitely don't book this hotel based on any of the leisure facilities. I do not recommend this hotel unless you get a very cheap deal indeed.
4 out of 5
by Ted from Stockholm

Happily Surprised

Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
As we live just outside Stockholm we don't spend many nights in hotels while going out, but this time we did and I was happily surprised. I can really recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by NEIL from Vancouver Canada

Clarion Amaranten

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is fine, but expensive for what you get (at least at the rate I obtained) vs some other options in Stockholm (like the Sheraton Stockholm, which has a better location and similar price)