Ratings based on 1,426 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the old town

Posted May 28, 2017
The hotel is in an excellent location in the old town. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a wide variety of dishes for all tastes. The room was very clean and spacious with an excellent sea-view. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent position

Posted May 27, 2017
First hotel Reisen is well positioned close to all amenities in Gamla Stan, including the palace and boat rides. The hotel is old and in need of refurbishment though this did not spoil our stay. Recommend the superior room with a view of the harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth NH USA

Perfect location.

Posted May 26, 2017
Close to the things we wanted to see. Staff was exceptional. The breakfast had everything anyone could possibly want. Loved having a balcony off of our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

An older hotel with small rooms but great charm.

Posted May 21, 2017
The location in Gamla Stan can't be beat. Very nice breakfast buffet included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the sights

Posted May 16, 2017
After a poor start the room and service were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Australia

Excellent location in Stockhom

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Loved the gluten-free options for breakfast.
Location: Gamla Stan and the Royal Palace are very close to the hotel.
We stayed in a corner room which had a wonderful view. There was public transport riht outside the door and the beautiful Gamla Stan is on the doorstep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Excellent hotel great location

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: nothing excellent stay
Location: excellent everything within walking distance
Great time excellent location beautiful city. People very friendly food excellent. a little expensive but no more than I expected. All trips well priced would recommend this to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your kind words Bran. It is truly rewarding to see that we exceeded your expectations and that you rate your stay as excellent. I hope we will see you back with us upon your next visit to Stockholm. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel in a good area. Very good breakfast

Posted May 6, 2017
We enjoyed our stay in this lovely area. The rooms are small but well-equipped. The restaurant is good. The front desk staff were pleasant. We had a small twin room without a view in an excellent area of the city. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location but.....

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Location, Breakfast
Cons: Bathrooms, Common Areas
Location: Gamma Stan, Bus & Boats tours start within walking distance, Royal Palace
I'm not one to be negative but this hotel needs some work. The location is amazing! You are right next to the Royal Palace, excellent restaurants, and right in Gamla Stan. Unfortunately, the hotel has some quirks. The bathrooms are horrible and need updating. We had a rude staff member on our initial check in. Everyone else was lovely, but after 12 hours of traveling that first encounter was anything but hospitable. The decor was dingy in the common areas. Definitely needed a good cleaning and update. The breakfast in the morning was well done. Lots of choices and a great way to start off your day in Stockholm. We have stayed in a First Hotel before in Copenhagen and loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on both pros and cons on your stay, we appreciate to hear the opinions of our guests. I am glad to see that you really enjoyed the location and breakfast, but it concerns me that we did not manage to meet the other aspects of your expectations. The hotel is situated in a building dating back to the 17th century and we work hard to maintain a high standard of the hotel while still keeping the old charm. However, the rooms should not have the feel you describe, so for this I deeply apologise. I am particularly concerned about the comments on your first encounter, we are normally very proud of our staff members and the service we provide, but I understand that we did not fully succeed in your case. Thank you for letting us know so that we can make sure to deliver a better service to the next guest. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
We really enjoyed the organic and gluten free options for breakfast. The staff were always really helpful with all of our questions. We loved the location in a historic part of the city and near the water. Our room was very quiet. We had a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Front Office Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. I am thrilled to find that our breakfast offering was to your delight. Also happy to see that you were well taken care of by our staff members and really enjoyed your stay in the Old Town. Welcome again. Kind regards