Ratings based on 1,434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location for the harbor

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location and the high quality of the hotel
Cons: View at 2nd floor was obstructed by the flags out front.
Location: Vasa Museum is 10 minutes walk - old town is 10 minutes or less. Shopping and restaurants are 3 minutes walk. Great location and very safe area.
We were in Stockholm for two days and we wanted a convenient hotel with a view. This hotel fit the bill. The location to the Vasa museum (which we did early in the morning) was an easy walk. It is so convenient to everything we did in Stockholm. All of the high end shopping (Prada, Gucci, etc.) is just two blocks away. The old town is about 10 minutes walk. The staff was great and very helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel. I did get a view of the harbor, but it was slightly obstructed by the Swedish flags at my window.. If I stayed there again, I would request at least a 3rd floor room to eliminate this issue. Other than that, it was a very nice room and good view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely worth it!!

Posted Aug 5, 2016
As long as you can afford it, its an excellent choice for Stockholm in every aspect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Elegance and charm in great capital city

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Difficult to see what could be improved
Location: Easy to reach all the central city spots, and perfect to get ferries and tourist boats to explore the city from the water.
The Diplomat is an classical, elegant hotel perfectly located on Stockholm's Strandvagan. The room was beautifully furnished and decorated. Staff re friendly and helpful. It is an exciting location in one of Europe's most beautiful cities. And, of course, breakfast is fantastic!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Very good location nice building service should improve but anyway I suggest this hotel in Stockholm. For leisure as well as business
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely waterfront hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Lovely big room, with beautiful waterfront views. Nice big and very clean bathroom. Excellent food and bar. Room service was very good. Great staff !!
Cons: Hot water takes a few minutes to reach the tap.
Location: Easy access to good shops and wonderful restaurants. Tram stops and ferry stops conveniently near hotel. Waterfront near hotel is great to walk along.
Great location, with easy access to the city and ferries. Great to walk along the waterfront in the evenings during the summer. Very safe throughout. There are some really nice cafe's and restaurants along the front. A little expensive, but worth the experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Capitola, CA, USA

Great location, beautiful views, walk everywhere

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The hotel is both historic and modern at the same time.
Location: Everything is close by walking, by boat and by bus.
Hotel Diplomat is perfectly located, walking distance to main Stockholm landmarks and next to the important boat and bus stops. Our room had great views of the lake and harbor. The room had high ceilings, nice balcony, and modern furnishings and bathroom. The WiFi worked well throughout the building and the restaurant. The last century historic elevator is small but it can handle two people and the traveling luggage at the same time! The staff is friendly and efficient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Comfortable hotel, centrally located, good restaurant with outdoor cafe.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not another cookie cutter hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Location, attention to detail and buzz.
Cons: Lift is a problem when someone leaves the door open.
Location: Very near the centre and ideal for public transportation and boat trips.
Just spent four days in this hotel which is very well located, beautifully maintained. I highly recommend this hotel. The whole experience was a pleasure and I hope to return. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: location, restaurant/bar
Cons: bigger room.
Location: near boat terminals, museums, shopping
Room was too small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Preston. UK

Very dependable hotel though not inexpensive.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, pleasant staff, waterfront location.
Cons: See above.
Location: Good location with access to the main sites, boats, opera house etc.
As always a high standard of comfort and very pleasant staff. The publice areas are very good. The piped music in the lobby is something we do without. The hotel helped me when I fell foul of the SAS strike, at least up to a point. Possibly a little more assistance would have been useful. Also a computer with no chair is uncomfortable.