Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Hotel needs upgrading

Posted Oct 11, 2016
No fault to the staff but our room felt old. There was a large gash out of the woodwork surrounding the mini fridge and the carpet looked dingy. We were only there for about 6 hours but the final blow was when we went to make the much needed coffee and found only decaf had been stocked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Lovely pleasant convenient boutique hotel on a par

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff: friendly and helpful; delicious breakfast in a lovely room beautifully laid out; dinner on the balcony is recommended; room: airy; great shower
Location: Walk to Old City; walk to neighborhoods to find little local restaurants; walk to boats to nearby islands; nearby walking street full of locals.
First, we were grateful that the staff made our room available to us as soon as we arrived in the morning directly from our overseas flight. The room was clean, light and airy facing a delightful small park. We sat several times on our balcony watching the world go by. Great bathroom with a wonderful shower. The hotel is in walking distance to all that you want to see (the old city) or to get to public trans on the water or on land. Lots of good local restaurants. Great breakfast in the hotel. Ran into a nearby tour in English on all the sites mentioned in the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo books - even our street! 3 days in Stockholm in beautiful sunny crisp weather at the end of August/beginning of September was a delightful way to begin our trip. We'd like to return and get out into the archipelago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ, USA

Great Hotel & Location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Hotel exceeded expectations on all counts. Location perfect -- relatively quiet area , though walking distance to the best of Stockholm. Room was great along with staff and breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel at a Great Location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Great location, nice facilities and friendly staff. I wish it had its own gym but was given the option to work out at a gym next door, however, there was an extra charge for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A great value for a stay in Stockholm!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
What I loved: - Friendly staff, responsive to emails before our stay, helped us arrange airport pick up - Breakfast (delicious, lots of options) - Location (close to Metro and ferry, within walking distance to Gamla Stan, cute neighborhood with lots of great restaurants and coffee shops, our toddler son loved the park right in front) - Room was new and clean, I also loved all the compartments and shelves in the closets - Bathroom had a great bath tub and shower What could be improved: - Free WiFi was slow (but free)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Cool hotel in a perfect location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Cool and functional room, location, great breakfast buffet, super friendly staff.
Cons: Hours of breakfast so you don't miss it. We did get a boxed breakfast one day but wish we could have done the buffet.
Location: Close walking distance to the old town, south bank patio bars and right across from a local park where there are weekend activities.
We didn't know Stockholm when we made the booking, but in hindsight it was a great choice for us. Location close to many bars and restaurants but away from the high action high noise stuff. Not a big hotel and so seemed more personal and like visiting friends. Staff were super friendly and attentive and responded to requests on a timely and professional manner. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was spacious, functional and a cool design. Breakfast buffet is not to be missed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Rival without a rival!

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Fantastic creative, modern, chic hotel, with incredibly helpful staff, delicious abundant breakfasts, cool interiors, a trendy 24hr tea/coffee station on the 4th floor and a DVD player in every room, with a library of free films to borrow! It is nestled in the trendier part of Stockholm with a 10 minute walk from the old town and on the doorstep of the underground. So easy access to all of Stockholm and beyond. I cannot really fault the Hotel. But we had booked one of the basic rooms for a week, which ironically (for Sweden- the creator of IKEA & storage!), had very little storage space. Upgrade if you can afford it, would be my recommendation. As I caught a glimpse of the rooms overlooking the square and they were spacious and gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very comfortable stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Hotel a Pleasure. Excellent breakfast selection over 4 hours - large variety of food choices as well as COOK TO ORDER. Very friendly Staff. Hotel Rival a WINNER BUT BOOKING THROUGHT EXPEDIA BIG MISTAKE!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Rival

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Staff. Room size. Location in Sodermalm
Great hotel in great city. Would recommend it to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Very enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel. Breakfast was excellent and there were some nice restaurants nearby to try out for evening meals.