Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Toni

A great 4 night stay in Gamla Stan!

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful place to stay in Stockholm! Everybody there is so nice and friendly. They are so helpful too. We really loved it so much. I am definitely staying here again soon. Next time I will bring my adult kids and their families because it is the perfect spot to walk to everything and a great place to come home to at night. I have stayed in many hotels and this is truly a wonderful experience in Gamla Stan. Thank you to all of the staff! We miss you all already!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON

Such a fantastic stay at hotel Sven Ventaparre!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, authenticity, hostory, cozy
Cons: Shampoo, soap,
Location: Lots to see right in the old town- the palace, shops and old neighborhood.
We loved this hotel for its warmth and charm. If you need a modern, full amenities hotel, this is not for you. It is an authentic experience in the old town of Stockholm. John and the rest of the staff are warm helpful and freindly. European style breakfasts are so nice in the cosy breakfast room. The hotel is an original 1607 house, restored in the required way- so walls and floors are sloping and floors creak- you get a huge old brass key for the room. Bathrooms are modern and efficient, although small. (Shower is simply a curtain drawn around a corner in the bathroom.) My only improvements would be offering facecloths and bars of soap. Internet was sometimes off and on. Difficult for business sometimes. Much better for a romantic getaway! Excellent all around. Thanks very much.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm springs

Charming

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Charming 400 year old building. Cheerful helpful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good spot in Old Town

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff in excellent location, noisy at night, steep stairs but not enough to really worry able bodied people
4 out of 5
by IAN VARNEY from Brighton and Hove

Authentic Swedish hotel.

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Gamla Stan is an excellent location with a very busy nightlife. The only downside is the noise at night, as the hotel is situated in an alley between two very busy streets and noise travels!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A memorable and comfortable stay!

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
the + * Excellent host at arrival & first night/morning. He spoke English & gave us a variety of suggestions. * Plentiful breakfast. Wonderful spread with filling, nutritious food, coffee, tea, espresso. * Gorgeous room. Very comfortable beds. * Quiet street. * Easy to walk around & find food, even late at night. * Perfect, central location. Easily walk everywhere, including into Sodermalm or the north. In evenings, the Old Town clears out so you can really enjoy walking around beautiful cobblestone streets. * Very safe location. * Excellent sightseeing. the - * Mobility issues? I don't recommend staying here. All rooms are up a narrow and steep spiral staircase. Even going up the 1st flight to our room was stressful for my mother & made it difficult for her to enjoy herself. * Room was very clean except for a few strands of long black hair in the drain (we're all blonde). * Floor in bathroom becomes extremely slippery while showering. Again, not great if you have mobility issues. But, the floor did seem to be heated. * Major miscommunication with the host on-call during our departure that resulted in us missing a taxi twice, and having to walk for about fifteen minutes with my mother and all of our luggage to find a more expensive taxi. Stressful way to end our trip.
4 out of 5
by stephen from essex

Quaint charming B&B in heart of Old Town

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had the large 1st floor superior at the front, above the cafe, quite pricey at £208 per night) and enjoyed it a lot – the room was quaintly original ie slopey, nicely decorated, spacious and perfectly positioned for sightseeing. The male staff member was chatty/helpful (even going out during breakfast to get a particular specific dietary item and giving us coffee/biscuits from cafe when we got back one afternoon). Given the age of the building, surprising lack of noise from other guests (although this is of course dependant). Probably should mention some challenges around light from large lanterns through blinds (one of which broke but was quickly mended), noise from bin men at 5am (and all day from surrounding streets if you had the windows open which you might need to as there is no aircon), ridiculous shower that flooded the toilet (although even this became an amusing challenge) , strange housekeeping hours (and not at all on one day), breakfast replenishment a bit real-time, minute TV, awkward tiny staircase especially with luggage but none of this diminished the overall charm. But for these, would definitely have described it as romantic. (oh, and wifi patchy). So, you do need to go with the flow and enter into the spirit of a building almost unchanged since 1607 and right in the heart of the old town, and then you will get the most from it. And anyway, £200 probably doesn’t get you much in the way of a slick business type hotel in Stockholm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location at the heart of Stockholm

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay at this charming hotel. Some noise from normal street life, but what else could you expect when you are staying in the midst of Gamla Stan!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Charming fabulous hotel in central Stockholm

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: as above - everything!
Cons: Jon was so friendly and welcoming and helped us find great places to visit, other staff member much more reserved and felt we couldn't ask much.
Location: Central location so walkable to everything. Highly recommend the boat trip to the archipelagos, takes around one hour and you can get off/on all day.
The hotel is set in the old town area of Stockholm, Gamla Stan. It is small and tucked away down a high street right in the middle of the central old town, and has all the charms offered for its architecture and setting. It is a tall narrow building with lots of stairs (no good for anyone with a disability, old or infirm) and our room was on the second floor. It was a wonderful room - light and airy with windows on two sides, a perfect en suite bathroom with all mod cons, and in the room there is a sink with plates cutlery etc so you can prepare your own food should you wish. The room has wooden flooring, very clean, and as the hotel is so old, the room actually slopes! its a bit like walking on a boat or being a bit drunk! we were mother daughter on a trip away and therefore asked the hotel to place the beds as two singles which they did. Downsides? the beds are narrow (but very comfortable) and there is noise outside at night (we had to close the windows) but that is to be expected in such a central position. It is human noise though - no cars or traffic here. And all the voices were happy! The breakfasts are great - a self serve buffet style with meats, cheeses, cereals, pouring yoghurts, crisp breads and the coffee is really great. Don't come here if you want a traditional english breakfast but its a traditional skandia fair - eat as much as you like. Free wi-fi, free water, lovely friendly hosts with great travelling tips - highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great historical building

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: Being in an old building, it would be difficult to add an elevator and it might destroy its charm but the stairs were a little difficult.
Location: see above
This hotel was originally built in 1607 and that was one of the reasons we wanted to stay here The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and I loved the little dining area. No elevator and the stairs were a little challenging but the staff assisted with our luggage. Loved the locks on the doors. Conveniently located and a quick walk to shops and restaurants.