Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Devon, UK

Hotel with such a difference

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The cabins were adequate and quirky, which I love. I loved the view from my cabin. Staff were delightful.
Cons: I can think of nothing.
Location: Perfect, central, close to the idyllic, green island. Lots of shops and restaurants in the old part. Hot wine and coffee shops. Wonderful stores.
I will never stay anywhere else!!! The beautiful passenger liner was in a fabulous location. Close to the main shopping area of Stockholm and yet within easy reach of the peaceful islands close by. I met my Swedish friend who could show me around the city and it was a wonderful pre-Christmas treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A stay on the 'Boatel'

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location Breakfast buffet Staff Cleanliness Quirky nature of staying on a boat
Cons: No major issues at all. Shower temperature very inconsistent. Decor could possibly be updated.
Location: Excellent for Gamla Stan (about 5 mins away) but situated nicely away from busy areas.
We had a very comfortable 4 night stay in a bunk bed cabin. We knew in advance that it was going to be a 'cosy' and it certainly was, but it was well fitted out and didn't detract at all from the enjoyment of our stay. We wondered if the boat was going to sway at all but it was always steady as a rock. We had lovely views across the water from the porthole in the room. The bathroom/toilet was very snug but again as was expected so no real problem. The toilet flush mechanism made a sound like a jet taking off but that was no problem either. Our room was cleaned very well each day. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. We really enjoyed the stay. Yes, the room was small but it was comfortable and a great base from which to explore the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Location, Location, Location!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Perfect Location, reasonably priced, all the amenities we needed and a friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The showers changed temperature very quickly and without warning. The room was smaller than advertised yet had it's own charm.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, the royal palace, central station, museums were all less than 10-15 minute walks. Very easy to get to and from the airport.
The hotel was centrally located, about a 15 minute walk from Stockholm Central Station. The Gamla Stan area has the charm and history of a town that has withstood hundreds of years of growth and the hotel is less than a five minute walk to all Gamla Stan has to offer. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included and was outstanding. On a return visit to Stockholm I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well located

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Full of character and well located! Staff welcoming and great value for money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Kitschy but not worth the stay

Posted Dec 17, 2016
The only thing worthwhile about our stay here was its novelty and location. The room was awful. It was small and there was no toilet paper. When I notified the front desk, they simply handed me a few rolls and said nothing. They were neither friendly nor polite. The walls are thin, children running up and down the halls kept us up late. Breakfast was adequate but when we spotted a nice seating area, an employee ran to get ahead of us and closed it off without saying a word. Very rude staff all the way around. Do not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

nice quiet hotel in city centre

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Nice hotel , underground station close by , Sub zero temps but cozy inside
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Not convenient in transportation. However, the staff is kind and helpful. Rooms are small but acceptable. The room rate is a bit expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, staff, cleanliness.
Yes, the rooms are microscopic in size, but it is a fun and unique experience! The room was very clean and the bathroom was updated. The staff were all friendly and all spoke perfect English. The complementary breakfast was surprisingly nice and complete. You can't beat the price for the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Clean but tiny and uncomfortable

Posted Oct 25, 2016
The hotel staff were nice and the rooms were clean, but the room was for too tiny to stay in. In fact, we stayed out in the rain at night as long as possible so as to avoid having to go back to our room. The worst part was the bathroom. It's the size of your average shower. In fact, when you have a shower, out will flood the whole bathroom, so you have to plan for showers accordingly. We held out until right before bed, so as avoid it being unusable. When I used the shower curtain, I couldn't bend over to wash my feet and had to stand side on. Finally, although the water pressure was good, the temperature constantly changes from cold to boiling hot... Was painful Moving on to the room. My partner and I had to coordinate getting dressed, as there isn't enough for space for both of us to be out of bed at the same time. Forget luggage space. Moving on to the beds. They were comfortable but small. The bottom bunk is OK, you just can't sit up and lean against the wall as the trading light sticks out above your head. The top bunk was a nightmare - it was awkward to climb up there, there was no support on the side so it tilted towards the floor and it felt like you'd roll off at night, and there was no space to sit up as the roof was so close to your head. I give this hotel 2/5 because it was clean and the staff were OK. I would not actually recommend anyone stay here though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, It's a Boat

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Great Location; Standard Scandanavian breakfast (better than at US chain hotels) which includes meats, cheeses, breads and fruits.
Cons: Luggage rack was broken and removed upon notification, but not replaced during our 2 day stay.
Location: Easy 2 block walk into Gamla Stan (go back into and straight thru Gamla Stan metro station to get under highway/rail tracks.
This is a different type of place to stay in a great location on Gamla Stan (Stockholm's old town). This is a boat so know going in that the bathroom is very small. Bunk-bed room was actually big enough for two people and luggage. Easy 3-block walk (even with rolling luggage) from the Gamla Stan (take the Riddarholmen exit out).