Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great place to get together

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Great place for a night out, free entry to the club for hotel guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Good hotel in a quiet location.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The Staff. A warm and friendly welcome in the bar and restaurant, all very willing to help make the stay a good experience.
Location: National Trust property Lyme Park. Lovely walk in the Goyt valley. Excellent shopping in Manchester.
Very pleasant staff, The food both in the bar and at breakfast was generous and of good quality. The room was clean and well furnished, however I was disappointed, I booked and pre-paid for a King room with a King bed, I was allocated a double room with a double bed on the top floor, There was no lift. Despite this I would use this hotel again if I was the the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2017
No one on reception when I arrived, had to wait 10 minutes. The bathroom was dirty, and the room itself had a dated and unfinished feel about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas Party

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Cons: Décor
Check in was straight forward, rooms very average probably looked well 30 years ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Nice hotel, bit of a wait at check in.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Few problems due to booking through Expedia & hotel having wrong information (2 people rather than 3) however this was very quickly resolved but I wonder if this is why it took a while to check in, if others were having similar issues. Staff nice & friendly Lovely food in restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stratford on Avon

NICE HOTEL BUT VERY DATED

Posted Nov 9, 2017
As a woman traveling on my own, found to be very male dominated. The hotel is very dated and could do with refurbishment. Food was ok and the staff excellent. Very large bedroom with two beds. I feel I was lost and would have liked a single room. lifts were not working while I was there. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Sisters 40th

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Could of done with more than one person on the desk tho.. Rooms were clean, beds really comfy. Not much tea/coffee facilities in the room. Shower was ok but no shower curtain so the floor got soaked. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from Would definitely stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Poor room

Posted Oct 19, 2017
First room we were given was disgusting. The sheets on the bed were dirty the valence on the beds was an off yellow colour compared to the white sheets so obviously hadn't been changed in years! There was cobwebs in the corner of the room. The bathroom had damp spots all over the sink as well as an infestation of small flys. There was no hotel info in the room to call reception or remote control for the tv. Overall not good. When I went to reception to complain they were very helpful and apologised for the room. They were unable to offer an upgrade due to the hotel being nearly full but did offer a number of other rooms until we found a satisfactory conclusion. I put a report into the management and was told they would be in touch but have not heard from them at all!
1 out of 5
by DS from UK

Broken bed, faulty windows, no curtain, dated room

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived very late, night staff very helpful. That's as good as it got. Room was cold due to windows being open. After fighting back the ivy in the room and through the masses of cob webs and insects, still could not close windows fully. Large window had no curtain so felt exposed. Room was continously well lit from lamppost directly outside. Double bed had collapsed at 1 side so slept on a slope. Bathroom well past its best. Breakfast was ok. On asking receptionist for receipt for breakfast only, I was told it could not be separated from room cost. I explained that I had not paid the hotel but paid Hotels.com so why does it show payment I had not made. Very reluctantly receptionist provided breakfast only receipt. Give this place a miss.
4 out of 5
by Marc

Great Night

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
About my 8th time here now! Fantastic place where you can go with a large group and just have a top night, never seen any trouble just laughter.